Back again

Standard

I am officially in my last semester of nursing school! Where has the time gone?! I’m super ready, but also nervous. I really want to have a job lined up before I graduate- I sent in my application for my Alaskan nursing license, but I can’t move there until I have a job (Alaska has a super high cost of living). I want to spend time with my family, but I’d also really love to earn some money, and so I’ve been thinking about what I’ll do if I can’t get a job right away. Just getting to Alaska is going to be expensive, and I’ll have to get set up (some jobs offer signing bonuses and relocation money, but not the new graduate ones), so that’s freaking me out. I’m so glad I made this decision, but it is going to make things more complicated than if I just moved back to Buffalo (though the NY State nursing license application is a bear).

I got accupuncture the other day (as part of an enrichment activity for public health. It’s a free service offered at a local drug rehabilitation center), and after they put the pins in we all sat in the dark for about an hour. I didn’t know what to think about (I don’t meditate very often), so I thought about Alaska. I thought about being a nurse, and going hiking, and snowboarding, and berry-picking. I pictured the Northern Lights, and thought about meeting new people at contra dances. I pictured the kittens I’ll get (I want two Siamese kittens), and thought about hosting dinner parties, and game nights. I know it won’t be all nice things all the time, but I’m really looking forward to being there, especially since it’s fifty million degrees in Baltimore today, and I don’t have air-conditioning at home.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

