SALAD!

Standard

I vividly remember sitting in the dining hall in college and having a girl from my house plop down across from me, tell her friend that she had just run home from UMass, and then sing a little song about her salad. I had never seen someone so excited to eat a salad- even between bites she would exclaim “Salad!” and do a little wiggly dance in her seat. It clearly left an impression (I don’t remember her name, but the salad song stuck with me), and I think about her whenever I’m excited about salads.
006
I’ve been in a good salad-eating place lately- all my classmates love them, and bring them for lunch most days, so I hopped on the bandwagon. Tonight’s salad was standard stuff- kale, carrots, celery, and cabbage, with some roasted red peppers that I made a few days ago and have been storing in olive oil, and topped with chicken. The chicken was the star of the show- it smelled incredible while it was cooking (I just roasted it with olive oil and Cajun spice), and made the whole meal more satisfying. I dressed the salad with a dressing I made myself using lemon juice, balsamic vinegar, red pepper flakes, salt, pepper, a tiny pinch of brown sugar, and olive oil. Salad!

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

