Perfect

Standard

I think it’s important to have a good breakfast party piece. You never know when it’ll come in handy- friends in from out of town, friends in from the same town, random brunch event, it’s always a good idea to have a nice go-to dish. I’d like to be able to make delicious pancakes, but that’s still a work in progress. Instead, this morning I made a really special dutch baby.

My dad occasionally makes a dutch baby that I really love- it’s lemon-y, and sweet, and it has a nice, kind of dry edge that I adore. I’ve never been able to reproduce it on my own, but today I made something that was very different, and very, very good. Dutch babies are supposed to puff, which mine only did around the edges- most of it settled into a fabulous custard. 005

I made it using Martha Stewart’s recipe, with the addition of strawberries. I think the extra liquid kept it from rising, but it was still delightful. It’s the perfect breakfast for a beautiful, sunny Saturday morning- it makes me wish I had a deck, and a newspaper, but mostly someone to share it with, because it’s truly too good to be eaten alone.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

