Casting my nets

Standard

According to Google Maps it would take 99 hours to drive from Buffalo to Anchorage, stopping in Columbia, MO (to see Emily and Joshua), Berkley, CA (to see my friend Riva), and Bellingham, WA (to see my aunt and uncle) along the way . Of course, the downside to driving is that I’ll right off the bat be adding almost 6,000 miles to my car, but it might be worth it, just for the trip (if I just go through MO it’s only 78 hours, which is a pretty significant difference in time, and less than 5,000 miles, but the journey is the destination. If I don’t go through MO it’s only 72). My mom has said she might come with me, which would be a ton of fun, and I’d love the opportunity to see the country. We’ve only just started talking about it, but that would be great if it worked out. It would be less fun to go by myself, but I can think of a few people who might do it, and I know a lot of people from school are moving back out West. Even if that didn’t work it might be a good kick-off for my adventure to hit the road on my own- I’d have time to get used to being independent (and I’d get incredibly comfortable driving).

I’ve been applying for lots of jobs. It feels a little weird, since I don’t have any experience, but I keep telling myself that everyone has to start somewhere, so I shouldn’t feel self-conscious.

I had planned on hiding away yesterday, but it didn’t actually happen. Instead, I went to the Spring Fair, had a postpartum visit with a Birth Companions mom, and played the Game of Thrones with my friends until the wee hours of the morning. I haven’t seen the show or read the books, but the game was still really fun (it’s sort of like Settlers of Catan). Even more than the game though, I loved my friend Sarah’s cats. It was my first time going to her place, and she has two beautiful, giant Siamese. They’re really friendly, and I got to cuddle one in my lap for a nice portion of the evening, which gave me all kinds of oxytocin. They actually really reminded me of the racist Siamese cats in Lady and the Tramp (but in a good way).

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

