Solution!

Standard

I’ve been thinking a lot about my pet options for next year, and I’ve come to the conclusion that I can’t start my dog-owning life off with a toller- they’re just too challenging a breed for a first-time dog owner, and they require too much exercise for a new nurse who works 12-hour shifts and doesn’t have anyone to help or money for doggy daycare. Instead, I’ve decided to…get a corgi next year! Corgis are cool. Exhibit A:

Corgis are also way more chill than tollers. They still take a lot of exercising (which is a good thing!), but I’m fairly certain a corgi will be less insane, and certainly less scream-y.

Corgis are also freaking hilarious. I dare you to watch this without laughing.

Didn’t work, did it? I thought not.

Corgis are smart, and affectionate, and can do agility training, and wear rugby jerseys (probably. Maybe this one), and there are so many good corgi names! I’m partial to Bertie, but really anything British would work (Downton Abbey alone provides great name-fodder. Carson! Sybil! Thomas (he’s kind of evil, but he’s an out and proud old-timey gay guy, and I like that). Ok, probably not Thomas, but maybe Edith. And then there’s Call the Midwife! Chummy the corgi would be so cute!).

chummy

Edit: I somehow forgot Harry Potter names! Neville the corgi! No wonder the Queen has so many- there are just too many good corgi names!

I know they’re a super trendy breed right now, but they’re also timeless- the Queen has had them for years. I’ve admired corgis for some time now, and I feel good about this decision (and there’s a breeder in Rochester! I love how people in Rochester breed all kinds of things- hedgehogs, tollers, corgis). I’ll get a corgi, and then a kitten, and then someday I’ll get a toller, and then I’ll have all the pets and it’ll be awesome.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

5 responses »

  1. Given your own exercise regimen, wouldn’t a dog with longer legs make sense, so it could go running with you? I saw a guy on a bike yesterday with a small dog on a leash barely keeping up. Didn’t seem to be having fun.

Leave a Reply

