So Close!

Standard

I was having such a good, productive day, but it all unraveled in an instant. I didn’t do any work yesterday- I went to the farmer’s market, and got a haircut, and tried out a neat little hole-in-the-wall Mexican restaurant with my friend Maria, and then went and played board games at a bar with Scott and Emily. Munchkin kind of sucks, but Ticket to Ride is super fun (it’s like Settlers of Catan, but better, because it’s all about trains), and Scrabble is always fun, even though Emily and Scott slaughtered me. They beat me in every game actually- Scott won every time, and I was always third. That’s ok though, because it was still fun, and there were lots of cute nerdy guys with beards. I didn’t talk to any of them (even though there was a really handsome gingery one), but maybe next time (I’ll be all “Want to play Bananagrams?” and it’ll be awesome)! After games we went back to Emily and Scott’s place and had soup, and then I went home and to bed because I had had a full day of fun (and was slightly drunk, so not about to do homework).

Today got off to a better start- I got up early and did some homework, and then spent the day studying for my peds final with Sam and Emily. We were actually productive (and still managed to have a nice talk about Feelings- we usually get a little sidetracked with that stuff, which is one of the reasons I love my study group so much), and then I went to Spinning. I was totally kicking butt, but then I went to the grocery store and jumped the tracks. First of all, Safeway is terrible. They didn’t have celery, or cayenne pepper, or okra, and because I was there in the evening, it was a zoo. I waited on line for a good thirty minutes, and then when it was my turn, I opened my wallet and realized I didn’t have my debit card. So that stunk. I didn’t even have that many things, but I only had $10 on me, so I just walked away. I’ll go back tomorrow, and it’ll be fine, but I was very put out by the whole thing, and ended up stopping at CVS to buy Ramen noodles and a Reeses egg for dinner (my first Reeses egg of the season. It was super great (though not enough to turn my mood around), and I immediately wanted another). Now I’m working on homework and watching TV (even though I know I shouldn’t do both at the same time). This week is going to be nuts, but I’m also kind of excited. There will be contra dancing, and Vagina Monologues (it’s my first time going- it always struck me as dreadful-looking, but Emily is in it, so I’m sucking it up and going), and my last day of pediatric clinical, and probably some kind of Mardi Gras festivities (even if it’s just me eating meuniere sauce on rice in my apartment). Busy weeks are good.

One response »

Leave a Reply

