The Pied Piper

Standard

The downside to a one year program is that I’ve made lots of nice friends that I’ll have to eventually say goodbye to when we graduate and go our separate ways. I’d like to think that we’ll stay friends, but things will change when we don’t see each other all the time anymore. Unfortunately, this process is starting sooner than I would’ve hoped, since one of my friends is leaving the program and Baltimore in the next few weeks. This is someone who has really inspired me, and he’s going to volunteer with foster kids in Canada, so he’s continuing his streak of being totally awesome, but I’m going to miss him like crazy. He’s the first of many to go- none of my friends are planning on moving to Rochester, so I’ll eventually have to accept us going our separate ways, but I’m not ready yet- I haven’t built the solid foundation of shared experiences and affection that is required for a long-distance lifelong friendship, but I don’t want to stop being friends. Fortunately, he’s so natural and unawkward that if he is ever around (and he did say he wants to move to either Buffalo or Pittsburgh, so you never know) I know he’ll give me a buzz and we can hang out and get a drink or something. It isn’t much, since the world is a pretty giant place, and there are all kinds of adventures to be had, and people to meet, but it has to be enough, and if we don’t meet again then we will at least have had our morning rides to clinical.

I’ve only known him for a short time, but my friend has made me want to do exciting things. I can’t really imagine train-hopping the way he has, but I want to be brave and adventurous too. I wish I had someone to go with me- I’d feel much more confident if I had a travel buddy, but I think a lot of the point is to meet new people on your journey. I didn’t know many people before I came here, and I made friends as I went, so I know it can be done.

Leave a Reply

