Another first

Standard

It’s a little embarrassing, but today was the first time I’ve checked my mail in the new place. The leasing agent gave me a bunch of keys, and I figured the little gold key would belong to the little gold lock on my mailbox, but it didn’t fit. None of the keys fit. I bent the heck out of the keyhole, and nearly broke several keys trying to get it open, but nothing worked. Eventually I kind of gave up, but important things come through the mail, so I knew I’d have to deal with it sooner or later, and put in a work order. There was some quality stuff in there though (no electric bill, which was what prompted me to take action in the first place, but I don’t mind that so much), and I love getting mail, so I’m glad I straightened that out.

I just signed up for unlimited drop-in fitness classes at the gym ($45 for the semester, which is pretty reasonable), but to offset that additional expense I didn’t grocery shop last week. It worked out- I had plenty of food, and there were free onions last week at contra dancing (I didn’t go last night because it was raining too hard. I made it about two blocks before deciding that dancing for three hours in soaking wet jeans wouldn’t be comfortable), so I ate lentils, and made more stir fry (I love it so much. Look out kale- cabbage is climbing the Favorite Vegetable Charts!), and it’s fine. My milk went bad, which was unfortunate (on several levels- waking up to a mouthful of bad milk is very eye-opening, but not in a good way), but I’ve been managing with grapefruits for breakfast. The biggest hurdle I’ve encountered is my intense, crippling addiction to sugar. It’s bad. I have graham crackers, but they aren’t cutting it, and I’m trying to make them last, so I’ve been struggling. I don’t have a microwave, so mug cookies are out, but I tried to make one last night in the oven. It was pretty bad- I overcooked it, so it was dry, and I just made up the recipe, and it didn’t work at all, but I ate it anyway because waste is bad and I really wanted something sweet. 003(It looks kind of nice, but it was super dry and heavy.)

I need to get excited about food again. I wish I had a food processor so I could make baba ganoush.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. You could try making slice and bake cookies. once you have the dough you can make one cookie as needed and keep the log in the fridge pretty much indefinitely.

Leave a Reply

