Oh honey

Standard

Part of not being a hermit now that I live on my own is going out and seeing the world outside of nursing school from time to time. Sometimes this means chilling with friends, but my friends are busy people, so sometimes it means going out on my own. Last night was one of those nights- we have a test on Monday, so everyone was busy studying, but I couldn’t bear the thought of sitting in my apartment all night, putting my pajamas on at 7:30, and lumping the night away- I wanted to go out. As it happened, there was a stand-up night at the Homewood campus, so I walked over. It was a perfect night- cold, but not too cold, and quiet, since everyone in Baltimore closes up shop and hibernates if snow sticks. The auditorium was packed, which I took to be a good sign, but I soon realized that that was misleading, as I sat through an hour and a half of truly terrible comedy. There were jokes about airport security, and how Baltimore is full of black people who say and do the darndest things, and of course the requisite ginger kid jokes, but more often than not they didn’t tell jokes at all, and just said stupid, unfunny things. I kept flashing back to Marshall from How I Met Your Mother’s fish jokes, these kids were so bad. I don’t have a ton of experience with stand up comedy, but it was interesting to see their influences- one guy wanted so hard to be Jim Gaffigan, and another kid went all in with his attempt to channel Chris Rock, but it just wasn’t there. It was better than sitting at home though, so successful night out!

One of the reasons I like living near the undergrad campus is because I get to take advantage of all the college-y perks. I go to the university gym, which it turns out is slightly more expensive than other gyms, and is full of undergrads who take up all the machines, and I study at the student center, and could theoretically go to free campus stuff, though last night was the first time I did that. It was dark in the auditorium, so I don’t know for sure, but I’m pretty sure I’m too old for college stuff. You’re never too old to learn, but there is such a thing as college-age, and I’m past it. People started to leave before the show was over, and as I sat there watching girls in Uggs and tights walk past I was struck by how young they looked. My clinical group went into an elementary school to do hearing tests a few weeks back, and if you had slapped a kilt and tie on them, the kids last night would’ve fit right in. It was a little depressing, sitting there in the dark, by myself, surrounded by kids, and it made me feel a little bad about passing judgement on their terrible routines, but it was also weirdly reassuring. I do not miss college. It was fun, and young men are very handsome at that age (although that’s becoming less true too- their faces are taking on a babyishness that I didn’t see when I was their age), but they never change out of their pajamas. It’s nice knowing that I’m past that, though a part of me hopes that last night was a fluke- it’ll be time for spring a cappella shows soon.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

