Come hither

Standard

I finally got back to contra dancing last night, and it turned my whole week around (ok, not really, but this hasn’t been a great week. It would take more than a few hours of dancing to do that). It was a great time though, and I’m going to try to get back in the habit of going. There was one dance in particular that was especially fun- the women had to lure their partners after them with come hither looks, and it was very silly, but fun at the same time. There are never very many young men at these dances, and I was dancing with my favorite partner who is probably in his late 50’s- early 60’s and married, so I didn’t feel self-conscious about my goofy over-the-top flirting. I was thinking about it last night, and I don’t know if it’s sad or not, but as much as I love the music, and the dancing, and the element of play, I think my favorite part is being in men’s arms, even if they’re old enough to be my grandfather. That’s probably sad. I don’t mean it in a creepy frotteur way- it isn’t sexual- it isn’t even romantic, I just like being held. My friends are a pretty hug-y bunch, so I’m not just starved for affection, but there’s something about being in a man’s arms that feels great, and I don’t get it enough. The solution is probably going to fewer contra dances and instead meeting young men, but I honestly don’t have the energy for that kind of thing.

On a less weird note- they had free groceries at the dance last night, so I helped myself to a loaf of bread, a jar of hot peppers, and several big onions. It’s the makings for a highly flavorful and aromatic sandwich, but the bread is kind of stale (I’m not 100% clear on where this food comes from, but I know it’s the fruits of dumpster diving), so I’m going to use it for other purposes. On the one hand, it’s a little suspect, but on the other, free onions! I go through tons of onions, and they’re perfectly good, so I don’t see the harm. It’s just an added perk to a fun night out, and makes my entrance fee feel lighter (not that $6 is terrible, but it adds up if you go on a regular basis).

This week has been a bear, and next week kicks off with a test, so my weekend isn’t going to be much fun, but I’m in a pretty good mental place anyway. I’m going to go to the farmer’s market with my (kind of) new friend on Saturday (she moved into my old room, God help her), and spend Sunday studying with Sarah and Sam, and things are ok. I turned in my care plan earlier tonight, and I have my peds clinical tomorrow, and everything bad that happened this week feels less dire now.

I watched the first episode of American Horror Story tonight, just to be masochistic, and now I’ll probably have nightmares, but it was good. It’s wicked creepy, but not so much that I can’t watch it by myself, and I like a little scare now and then. I miss Gossip Girl- I love Downton Abbey, but it doesn’t make me need to watch a whole streak of episodes in a row, and Switched At Birth is entertaining, but ABC Family shows are more fun if you watch them with someone. I’ve given up on Grey’s Anatomy, and How I Met Your Mother jumped the shark ages ago.

7 responses »

  1. Downton Abbey cheers us up every time. We’re going to start waiting to watch two episodes at a time because the hour goes too fast and we are always left wishing for more.

  2. That reminds me, I went contra dancing over the weekend and one of my partners was a very tall young man who looked to be in his mid twenties. He was very nice, a good dancer, and he didn’t have soft hands so he probably has some kind of rugged hobby. That’s the kind of guy you’re after, right? They can be found at contra dances!

Leave a Reply

