A kid in a candy store

Standard

I had a very fulfilling clinical experience today. Lots of people don’t care for psych nursing, but I love it. I think it’s very rewarding, even though there aren’t any quick fixes, and every patient is a psych patient when you get right down to it. It can be hard, and troubled kids are especially challenging, but as soon as I heard my patient’s profile in preconference this morning I knew I wanted her. I even passed up an opportunity to shadow in the NICU, just so I could work with her. The nurses on the floor hate getting psych cases, and none of my classmates felt particularly drawn to the case, but I felt like I could help. We got out early because it was supposed to snow, so I didn’t get to spend that much time with her, but it still felt like a solid day.

On the way home my friend Jesse and I stopped by this enormous Asian grocery store. He had mentioned it to me before, but it’s near the hospital, and so far away from where I live, and I had never been there before. We went on a whim, and I didn’t have my wallet, so I didn’t buy anything, but I had a lot of fun looking. They had all kinds of interesting produce- roots, and unusual fruits, and an entire mushroom section, and tons of dried fish (and a large fresh fish section). I could have stayed and browsed for ages- I wish I knew how to cook with all of those fascinating ingredients. I don’t know what to do with lotus roots, or freeze-dried squid, and I’m not sure I’d like it, but I would like to try. I didn’t get the chance to browse through the seaweed aisle, but I want to go back sometime and check it out- I’ve wanted to make seaweed bread since I read Catching Fire. The whole place was just awesome, and they have lychee jello shots! I almost caved and asked Jesse to spot me so I could get them, but he was being all hardcore and buying exotic stuff like a pro and I didn’t want to buy candy in a jar shaped like a teddy bear in front of him. It isn’t really jello season anyway, which made me feel a little better- if it was summer I would’ve just swallowed my pride and enjoyed some lychee jello-y goodness.

Leave a Reply

