Making an impression

Standard

One of the many nice features of my new place is the fact that I have a doorbell. People no longer have to rattle the grate in front of my door in the hopes that I’ll hear and come let them in- it’s very exciting. The downside is of course, that it’s loud, and so far the people who ring it aren’t actually people I know. I’ve had Jehovah’s Witnesses, and this morning, one of my neighbors who had locked herself out. Because I don’t know these people, and because my friends aren’t the dropping by unannounced type, I always go down to open the door myself, which kind of defeats the purpose of the whole buzzer thing. I don’t wear shoes in my apartment (it’s carpeted and I don’t own a vacuum, so my plan is to just never dirty the floor), and today when I bounded down the stairs to get the door I slipped, and fell tail over tea kettle, and I think broke my toe. Being half a nurse, I’m not qualified to make that diagnosis myself, but it’s purple, and swollen, and hurts like billy-o, so my nursing diagnoses are risk for impaired activity (since if it’s broken I shouldn’t run on it), and acute pain (I have a bag of frozen peas on my foot as I type this). I let the neighbor in though, and she seems nice, but I think I scared her with my stairs acrobatics.

Today has been a very quiet, stay-at-home day. I went to church, and cleaned the bathroom and kitchen, and Flora’s cage, and did some homework, and read a lot of The Orchardist (a Christmas present from my parents-it’s very good so far), and watched the Sabres kick the Flyers’ asses, and just hung out. I didn’t do everything I wanted to, and I certainly didn’t do everything I need to, but it was a pleasant sort of day anyway. This afternoon I made my first ever attempt at rice pudding, and I have to say, it’s pretty awesome. I don’t know quite what inspired me to make it, but I’m glad I did, because it’s great- thick, and creamy, and I know pudding isn’t healthy, but I did use brown rice, so at least it has fiber. I was very pleased. I’ve been having good luck with food in the new place- I made a nice chicken pasta dish last week, and then yesterday I made some very tasty stir fry with homemade hoisin sauce that should last for a couple more meals (provided I don’t just nom it all). Having my own kitchen is the best- I’m falling back in love with cooking, and it’s a very pleasant feeling.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

