Cards Against Humanity

Standard

I had my first real day on my pediatric ED floor yesterday, and while I was nervous, I think it went really well. I saw a lot, and did a lot, and my patient was in better shape when I left than when I arrived.

My friend Emily invited me over for a gourmet hotdog night and Cards Against Humanity after clinical, and so as soon as I got home from the hospital I switched from scrubs to civvies and walked over. I thought I would be late, but I was the first one there, and so I got to have Emily and Scott to myself for a little, which is always nice. We ate chips and homemade refried beans, and I had a rube dog (a hotdog with sauerkraut, thousand island dressing, and shredded smoked turkey), and it was very laidback and nice. I love hosting, but Emily and Scott make it seem effortless in a way that I can’t yet. We’ve literally sat around eating cookie butter out of the jar with spoons, and I’ve had a great time, but I can’t do that when I have people over- I need to plan, and make special things, and while it’s a similarly nice time, it’s also kind of stressful.

Eventually our other friends showed up, and Sam broke out the game. I had never played Cards Against Humanity, and I felt a little conflicted about it- on the one hand, most of my friends love it and think it’s hilarious, but on the other, it’s incredibly offensive. I gave it a shot though, and while it is terrible, and my friends and I are terrible people for laughing at some of the things we said, it was also very, very funny. Like Apples to Apples, a lot of the fun comes from picking the right cards for the right person- Scott and Emily kept picking each others selections because they’re married and share a brain, Sam almost always goes for the most outrageous thing possible, Alex likes the quirkier, more subtle cards. When you play it that way it becomes less about the awful things people are laughing at, and more about psychology, which is the funnest thing of all. Or maybe that’s just an excuse, but I had a great night. I was particularly excited because Alex doesn’t usually come to these events, but he’s one of my good friends, and I like when circles intersect. I want all of my friends to be friends with each other. We played for a couple of hours, and ate cookies, and drank, and just had a great time. This week has been a little crazy, with roommates, and leasing offices, and accidentally going to the wrong orientation for my online class, and I only woke up after the sunrise once all week, but it was also really nice. I had a dinner party, and played with babies, and best of all, I spent a lot of time with friends. I sort of wish this program would last forever.

Leave a Reply

