24

Standard

Twenty-three was a pretty good year. I moved, started Nursing School, met lots of incredible people, and learned a whole lot, and ran my slowest ever half marathon. I did another doula training, and attended two births, moving myself that much closer to eventually becoming a midwife. I danced a lot, and baked a lot of bread, and established a reputation as a good cook, which is nice. I also lost a great friend (my parents gave me a framed picture of her last night  at my family birthday party and I burst into tears, but I still really like it. It’s just what I asked for), and lived in a toxic apartment with people I despise, but overall I feel very good about my twenty-third year. I think I grew up a whole lot. I lived on my own for the first time, and while my home situation isn’t happy, I at least know that I can survive independently. I can feed myself, and keep my space clean, and function as a normal(-ish) adult.

Twenty-four also promises to be a good year. I’m going to graduate, and take the NCLEX, and (hopefully) start my nursing career. I’m also going to move again, though I don’t know where just yet. I want to move somewhere that has a midwifery school (right now I’m thinking either Philadelphia or Milwaukee), so I can live in the same place for a few years and establish some roots. I’d like to live in the same place as my friends (not necessarily my current friends, who are all going to scatter come July, but I’d like it if I could make some friends and then live in the same place as them for more than a year), and maybe date. Right now I’m telling myself that I’m not dating because there’s no point since I’m moving in six months, but if I stayed put I’d have to either put myself out there or at least come up with another excuse. I’ve made friends with several boys this year, so they’re a little less mysterious and scary than they were before, which I think will help.

I don’t have a lot of plans for the day. We were going to go on a winter picnic to celebrate my grandfather’s birthday, but the roads are too snowy. I’d like to get a haircut, and we might go see Silver Linings Playbook, and I have to do laundry before I go home tomorrow. There are always things to do, even if those things are just lounging around reading David Sedaris. I think this break is just the right length- slightly too short, just to keep me wanting more.

 

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. I say you are an amazing 24! Happy birthday! We tried to call (and, I’m afraid, sing) but nobody was home so we guess you went to the movies.
    We’ve chosen “Parental Guidance” for our New Year’s Eve movie and have a nice little place we like for our early supper after the movie.
    Joanie is lots better but still has her cold so we are limiting ourselves to long walks in the 50ish, sunny weather here.
    I gahter your impressive snow of the 27th kept on coming the next day. That’s ok. Fresh snow/deep snow is wonderful. I even liked digging out our car from the hotel parking lot. it was right up to my knees in the drifts around the car but, with help from the desk staff and the snow blower guy, we got out and to the airport with time to spare. I love just that amount of snow.
    Incidentally, thanks for letting us share your life on this site.

Leave a Reply

