Every time

Standard

Every time I spend time with a group of more than two of my classmates I’m struck by how very very happy I am here, and how lucky I am to go to school with such delightful people. It never gets old.

Last night was the end-of-the-semester party (well, one of them, but the one I was interested in attending. There was another one on Thursday night with beer pong and blackouts, but that isn’t really my scene). My friend Marlon hosted the end-of-the-semester party over the summer too, and he’s really a terrific host and went all out, even buying an eight-foot fir tree for us to decorate. It was a pretty intimate party- there were only two people there when I arrived (it eventually filled up to maybe fifteen or twenty), but that was perfect because it wasn’t too loud, and everyone could chat and maneuver around, and it didn’t turn into wild partiers dancing in the living room and older students (and me, because I’m old at heart) mingling in the kitchen. I didn’t take any pictures because I was DJ for the night, so my phone was hooked up to the stereo, playing She & Him and Cajun Christmas carols (I love running the music!), but the tree looked great. Marlon has lots of fancy ornaments, and no small children or pets to break things, so we could put pretty things on lower branches for the first time in my life.

Everyone was still a little shell-shocked from finals, so the party didn’t go very late, but it was just the right amount of time. We talked, and ate (Marlon loves Costco, and so there were all kinds of nice cheeses and things), and trimmed a tree, and it was lovely. Without getting too too “God bless us, every one”, I’m just going to say that I’m very fortunate to be where I am.

I’m glad to be on break, but I was bored out of my mind yesterday and didn’t do anything productive. Today is going to be different though, because I’m going to go thrifting and then hopefully to a birth (a mom texted me last night but she said she didn’t want me to come yet, which was perfect because I was drinking). I also need to drink a little starch (metaphorical starch) and deal with a big ugly thing that has been looming over my head, sword of Damocles-style.

Leave a Reply

