I would like a Medal of Valor please

Standard

Tomorrow is the Career Fair at school, and while it is aimed at the traditional students my class is also welcome. Representatives from hospitals all over the country will be there, and so I’m brushing off the old resume and taking extra care with my clothes tomorrow. To that end, I was going to wash my hair after going to the gym, but when I went into the bathroom the tub was covered in what I thought was this powdery cleanser that my roommate favors (she likes to randomly sprinkle it on dirty surfaces and then walk away, leaving it for the cleaning fairies to wipe up. Or she thinks it dissolves, I don’t actually know). I struggled internally for a moment, and then decided that Tonight Was The Night, and texted her to please wipe the tub down when she uses that cleanser (this may not sound newsworthy, but I never initiate contact with my roommates unless I absolutely have to, especially when it comes to voicing complaints. I say hello if they come into the room, but that’s it). She responded that she hadn’t put down any cleanser, and upon further inspection I realized that the tub was actually covered with dried soap scum, and also disgusting. I scrubbed the whole bathroom on Sunday, and so this seemed off, but our tub drain is a disgrace, and tonight I decided enough was enough (I also don’t have any tests this week, and I didn’t want to do homework).

A quick internet search told me that baking soda and vinegar would clear a drain, and so I boiled some water and gave it a whirl. Now, I love vinegar. I love it on fries, I love it on chicken, I think it’s a pretty delightful liquid, but as a cleaning supply it kind of grosses me out. Every day when I walk through the hospital on my way to school I get a big whiff of vinegar, and I don’t know if it’s coming from the cafeteria, the bathrooms, or the florist shop, but it’s disgusting, and it taints my morning. I somehow forgot about that fact when I decided to try this plan. I also failed to consider another smell when I decided to pour boiling water down the drain of a shower shared by two girls with long hair- it was like the Hair Salon of the Damned. And then I added vinegar to the mix. And because I don’t have any wire hangers I wrapped my hand in a clorox wipe and pulled out a massive clump of hair WITH MY HAND (and yes, I know that was repetitive, but I wanted to really emphasize how horrifying it was. Also, in retrospect I do have rubber gloves that I wear when I clean Flora’s wheel. I should’ve used those, but the disgusting clump of hair will be haunting my nightmares no matter what Personal Protective Equipment I used). I’m a nursing student- I see wounds, I’ve observed surgeries, I clean up poop, and vomit, and I have to smile and act like it’s no big deal or the people responsible for the poop and vomit will feel even worse, and you know, it isn’t a big deal. I’m downright unperturbed by those things. Cleaning the drain though, almost made me throw up, it was that gross. And it isn’t even fixed! I used the better part of a box of baking soda, and it’s still not draining well (it is improved, but that just means it drains better than a sealed barrel). The process also covered my tub with a healthy scum of Evil that I now need to clean. I’m not worried about that part though- I sprinkled some cleanser.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

4 responses »

  1. Okay, first of all, my landlord doesn’t do ANYTHING around the house but even they will send somebody to unblock the drains periodically. Next time, give them a call and say, “Hey, my drain is a little slow, should I put some Drano in it or is this a you thing?” Mine have always said “DON’T PUT DRANO WE WILL SEND SOMEONE!”

    Second, I use vinegar for cleaning all the time and I don’t mind the smell, but some people add essential oils, maybe that would help? And for a lot of cleaning tasks, a dilution works fine.

Leave a Reply

