Hunkered down

Standard

It’s possible that I underestimated this storm thing. Nothing’s happened so far, but they cancelled school for tomorrow, and Hopkins never shuts down, so I’m starting to take this a little more seriously. My friend Emily and I went to the grocery store to pick up some supplies (tonic water and Worcestershire sauce for her, candy, peanut butter, and tortilla chips for me), and it was mobbed. All the bottled water was sold out, and it was interesting to see what people were buying to have while they weather the storm (lots of chips. Maryland is stupid and doesn’t sell alcohol in the grocery stores (AND it’s Sunday, so the liquor stores are all closed- don’t they know there’s a storm coming?), but if we were in New York I imagine there would also be a run on beer).

I’m not sure what to expect. My roommate appears to have run for the hills (nothing has happened, so I’m not worried, but if it starts getting nasty I’ll text her to make sure she’s safe if she doesn’t show up. I’m not totally heartless), so I might be on my own for the storm, which is fine. Depending on how things go I’ve been invited to hang out with Emily and Scott if it’s safe to venture out, or I could invite people here, especially if we lose power and I need to cook up all the stuff in the freezer (gotta love having a gas range). I’m not scared. My worst case scenario was that it would be rainy and windy and messy and I’d still have to get to school somehow, but now that that’s taken care of I’m less worried. I’d rather not lose power because it would disrupt my studying- I was supposed to have a test tomorrow, but now it’s been pushed back, and I want to use this extra time wisely.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

