Not a sitcom

Standard

Fridays can be tough, especially now that they’re clinical days. By the end of the week I’m usually tired, and even though it’s a good time to do some shopping and cooking I never want to. Fortunately, sometimes I don’t have to, because my friends Scott and Judy invite me out, and last night was one of those nights. I had had a very stressful day (it was my first time giving meds, and I got a new patient when I showed up to the hospital that morning, so unlike everyone else I hadn’t had the night before to prepare), but hanging out with two of my favorite people in Baltimore turned it right around. We went to their house first, for drinks and then on to Sushi Hana in Towson for dinner. Scott had just had oral surgery, and so was in the mood for something soft, but I was a little nervous about the restaurant choice. I don’t think I had ever gone out for sushi before, mostly because I had only experienced grocery store sushi, and I didn’t like it, so I never wanted to go to a place that specialized in something I wasn’t interested in eating. In the past when I’ve told people I don’t like sushi they’ve looked at me like I’m crazy, but I was pretty sure I didn’t like it. Fortunately, I was wrong, and we had a delicious meal, and I am won over to the side of sushi. I actually have the mats to roll my own sushi, so this was an even more pleasant surprise than it would have been otherwise. I didn’t take pictures, but believe you me, it was a tasty meal of sushi (and seaweed salad, which is so absurdly awesome that I need to find a way to have it more often).

While we were at dinner my friends asked me what I’ve been cooking lately, and I had to admit that I haven’t been. It’s terrible, but I’ve been kind of living off of carrot sticks and cantaloupe (I kind of half wonder if I’ll turn orange, but I haven’t noticed any changes yet). It isn’t that I don’t have time though, but I hadn’t thought about it until they asked, and I realized my real reason-my roommates. Now that there are three of us it’s really crowded in there, and so I’ve just been getting in and out as fast as possible. There have been some issues (I can only avoid drama for so long), although nothing explosive, but the fact of the matter is that we aren’t sharing well. The dish drain is rarely emptied, and there are usually dishes in the sink (although they aren’t mine…), and fridge real estate is at a premium (this is tricky, since we never talked about it. When I moved in my roommates had put post-it notes on the crisper drawers saying those were theirs, but I could use S’s while she was gone for the summer. When she got back she moved my stuff out, and I claimed the middle shelf for myself, figuring that they both had whole drawers, so I could take a whole shelf, they would split the top, and we would all share the bottom. It makes perfect sense to me, but someone’s tub of yogurt is consistently put on my shelf, so I just keep moving it). It’s confusing as well, because they’re inconsistent about messes- they’ll leave stuff in the sink for days, but then they’ll get upset and knock on my door for Serious Talks about apples left on the counter (not apple cores, just regular apples that I got at the market and left there while I ate breakfast). It is a mystery, and it makes me feel very off-balance and cranky, because I wonder if they think I’m the awful roommate, when in fact they are (they aren’t really awful, but I don’t like the idea that I’m the problem here). Today though, I decided I would cook, and so I finally broke into my spaghetti squash and roasted it. I bought a can of coconut milk at Trader Joe’s a few weeks ago, and so I decided to make squash coconut curry. I had never made it before, and I didn’t have any of the right ingredients to follow a recipe, but I was not about to let that stop me, so I forged ahead anyway. It could have been terrible, but it was actually good!

Into the mix went a can of coconut milk, a cup of stock, a couple tablespoons of brown sugar, curry powder (Emily’s recipe calls for curry paste, which is apparently not the same thing, but I didn’t have any), some minced garlic, an onion, and a bunch of kale. I thought about adding cabbage, but I had other plans for that, so I abstained.  When it was mostly cooked I added the roasted squash, and voila! Tasty. I only had a couple of bites, since cooking tends to kill my appetite, but it is good, and it’ll make for some nice meals this week.

While I was making my curry, I also baked up the squash seeds into a delightful snack.

I only wish there were more. Soon it will be pumpkin season though, and I’ll have lots of salty baked seeds.

Because I was on a roll (and my roommates had already commented on how I was cooking for a really long time) I also decided to try a little experiment.

I’m putting my cabbage to good use and making sauerkraut. My week of boring carrot meals put me in the mood for something flavorful and exciting, and if this works I’ll have a big jar o’ flavor in four weeks (if it doesn’t work I’ll have a kitchen o’ stinky rotten cabbage and two angry roommates. It’s a toss-up!).

I still don’t feel comfortable spending the day in the kitchen the way I did this summer, and right now I’m hungry, but dreading the thought of going downstairs because I can hear my roommates cooking, but it will get better. Eventually we will find a routine that works, and it will feel natural and good, but only if I push through the uncomfortable part now.

In other news, there won’t be any additions to the family just yet. In a desperate attempt to make conversation over breakfast I asked S. how she feels about cats and she shot it down so fast that I barely got the words out. So that’s disappointing (to me. Everyone else is relieved, except Scott and Judy who want to play with my kitten, and so suggested I just get one anyway, roommates be darned).

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one in the family who has trouble living with non-family. It’s so much easier to deal with dish-shirking when you actually love the person responsible. I hope your situation improves soon. And I’m really excited that you’ve apparently decided to like sushi and coconut milk, because that opens up whole worlds of tasty dinners we can have together someday 🙂

    • Yeah…I did wonder if it was just you, and I would have an easier time, but now I understand and can finally feel your pain. With any luck things will get better though- I went for a run with roommate B. this morning, and while I was mostly fueled by not wanting her to be better than me, it’s good for us to hang out.
      I’m glad I’m coming around to coconut milk and sushi too! Not liking foods is too limiting.

Leave a Reply

