These are your feet on running

Standard

I don’t have class until 1:30 on Tuesdays, but instead of sleeping in today I woke up early and went for a run with my friend Jen. I was supposed to follow a training plan for my upcoming half marathon, but that sort of fell by the wayside, and now I’m starting to get nervous, so I’m trying to get some longer runs in while I can. This morning’s run was about six and a half miles, and while it felt good, but I was glad I had a buddy to keep me from quitting. It was a beautiful morning- brisk enough to keep my top layer on for the first couple of miles, but not so chilly that my fingers and nose froze. Walking back from our end point I checked the time and realized that it was still early- if I hadn’t been out running I probably would have used that time for sleeping, and while I love to sleep, I felt very proud of myself for getting out and accomplishing something instead.

As I stripped down to shower I noticed this:

I didn’t even feel it, but my toe nail sliced open my toe! It isn’t the first time this kind of thing has happened, so you’d think I’d know better, but clearly I don’t. It seems like it’s just a fact of life that I don’t get to have pretty feet.

I know things will eventually get crazy, and I’ll have to spend my Tuesday mornings frantically reading, and prepping for classes, but right now, with my tired legs, ABC Family shows, and hedgehog pj pants, things are looking pretty darn sweet.

Leave a Reply

