Early bus rides

Standard

I think I’m going to love having two clinical days this semester. My floor is very exciting- it’s HIV and AIDS patients, and there’s a lot of psych nursing involved since a lot of the people are addicted to drugs. It’s going to be sad, and intense, but very interesting. It’s a little thing, but I also really like that I can just take the bus to the hospital. The novelty might wear off when I have to drag myself to the bus stop in the dark and cold, but for now it’s fun. I like seeing the early morning bus people, even though they’re mostly just nursing students like me. I like being awake in the wee hours of the morning.

The only downside to all of this exciting clinical-ness, is that we have to go to the hospital on Wednesday to pick up our assignments, and because of birth companions I’m at school until 7:00, which doesn’t give me a lot of time to get to contra dancing. I made it last night, but it was close, and I had to change out of my scrubs in the church bathroom since there wasn’t enough time to go home, and that was without having to make a pit stop at the hospital to print drug records and introduce myself to patients. The birth companions class will be over in October, and dancing is free for students in September (so people might actually come with me), so at least I’m not paying for these shortened dance nights, but it bugs me nonetheless. I want to do all the dancing. I hadn’t been in ages, and it felt great to go back last night. There were even young people! And a cute, short boy wearing plaid! He didn’t seem terribly interested in me, even though I totally flirted with him, but that isn’t the point. I don’t go to contra dancing to pick people up, I go for the weird flirty eye contact and waist-squeezing from old men. And the dancing of course. It felt great to get back into it last night, and my partners were terrific, and showed me off nicely. I love how I don’t need to have any skills of my own, and can just ride on my partners’ coattails and look awesome.

I still marvel sometimes at how happy I am here. Even things that I already enjoyed pre-nursing school have become better- I’ve never enjoyed Vampire Weekend this much before. Things are already crazy, and I can tell that it’s going to be a very intense semester with lots of long nights and hard work, but I love it anyway. I need to get into a gym routine, but I’m otherwise almost completely happy. I got 100% on a math quiz today, I have plans for this weekend, and things feel good.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

