Snooze

Standard

I keep my phone on the other end of my room at night so that when my alarm goes off  I have to physically get up, either for good, or to turn it off and tumble back into bed. This morning however, that didn’t work, because either it didn’t go off, or I didn’t hear it. I woke up on my own at 7:03, seven minutes before the bus arrives. It was not pretty. I pulled on my scrubs, shoved my books and contra dancing clothes (I’m at school until 7 tonight, so if I go I won’t have time to stop at home first, and I cannot dance in my nursing shoes. I can barely walk in them) into my backpack, and on my way out the door grabbed what’s left of yesterday’s carrot sticks and hummus for lunch. I sprinted to the bus stop (I love that it’s just around the corner), and made it just in time, since the bus was there and the doors were closed, but it was stopped at a red light. I was lucky the driver let me on, but I made it to school with plenty of time to print my notes for my 8:00 class, so there was no serious harm done. Unfortunately, I have to go through the day with unbrushed teeth, but I was in such a hurry that I’m just glad I didn’t leave off some vital item of clothing.

The buses are extra crowded these days, and this morning I noticed that the guy who was standing near me’s zipper was down. You couldn’t see his underwear, but as someone whose favorite jeans have a broken zipper, I know that it’s embarrassing to walk around like that, and so I spent the whole ride trying to nonverbally communicate the fact to him. This mostly consisted of making eye contact, and then trying to draw his eyes down, which I eventually realized was incredibly sketchy, since I was basically staring at his crotch, and he seemed to think I was flirting with him. Not one of my finer moments, but I try. I eventually gave up and just told him that his pants were unzipped, and he was embarrassed but appreciative, but it was not the best way to start off my day.

Would you tell a stranger on the bus that their pants were unzipped?

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. Possibly, but I think you hit on the most awkward possible way to do so. Clearing your throat, making eye contact, and then gesturing to your own crotch might have been slightly better, but I think a quiet, “Excuse me, but your pants are unzipped,” is probably the way to go, if go you must.

Leave a Reply

