Where haven’t I been?

Standard

It’s been a very long, full week. My friend Josh was visiting from West Virginia, and we kept ourselves very busy. Classes start on Tuesday, and so it felt really great closing out the summer with a week of fun. We went to D.C., and caught an Orioles game, and geocached a bit (Josh is slightly obsessed. I had never done it before, but I can see why he likes it so much), and went to a botanical garden, the Baltimore Art Museum, visited Fort McHenry, and ran a race under the blue moon. It was a surprisingly patriotic week actually, though I suppose it makes sense, what with visiting the nation’s capitol, and the birth place of The Star Spangled Banner.

D.C. was very cool. I had never been, and even though we covered a lot of ground, there’s so much there that I’ll need to go back. We went to the Natural History Museum, The American History Museum (I got to see Julia Child’s kitchen! It was beautiful, and my new dream kitchen. It looked like a perfect place for socializing while you cook), the Lincoln Memorial, the Vietnam War Memorial, and the Korean War Memorial. Josh loves to quote random facts, and he was in his element all day as he showed me around.

The moonlight race was a major highlight of the week. My friend Jessica told me about it and ran with us. The race started at 9:00, and all the runners were given glowsticks to wear, so it looked like a massive rave. It was very crowded, and the combination of a narrow trail, dark night, and dizzying glowsticks (it was impossible to tell whether someone was running towards you or away from you, and since it wasn’t a loop and when you got to the halfway point you just turned around this felt a little dangerous. Fortunately, I don’t think there were any collisions)  made it impossible to go for a PR, but it was just a fun run. It was a warm, muggy night, and despite the whole half-marathon-in-a-little-more-than-a-month thing I haven’t been doing longer runs, so it felt good to just bop along and not try to kill it. The website said there would be a party afterwards, but there was just food, and people ate and quickly dispersed. The food was good- lots of strawberries, and a very satisfying plum, but it would have been nicer if there was music (moon-themed songs would have been fun), and beer. Oh well.

This summer has been one of my best ever, but I’m ready for fall. I want to meet my roommate, and jump into classes, and just get back to normal life (and a normal blogging schedule!).

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Not ready | Turn Towards the Sun

Leave a Reply

