Waiting

Standard

I hate when I do this, but I haven’t been blogging much because I’ve been sitting in my room watching Netflix, and doing very little else. It’s terrible, I know, but I don’t know what else to do, since my friends aren’t back yet, and I don’t have any schoolwork, and the weather has been dreary (although it’s lovely out today, so I can’t use that excuse). I am a lump. On the bright side, my friend Josh should be hitting town soon (although he won’t tell me when, because sometimes it’s fun to make hostesses guess when you’re arriving, because letting them plan ahead means there will be food and beer in the house, and no one likes that. Passive aggressive ranting aside though, I’m super super excited to see him), and then there will be fun. I’m not sure what we’re going to do exactly, but he isn’t the type to let grass grow under his feet, so I’m sure we’ll think of something. We’re catching a baseball game on Wednesday with my friends Emily and Scott, and we both want to go to D.C., and there are lots of fun things to do in the area if you have a car and an open mind.

While I haven’t been a model of productivity, I have been easing back out of living in Vacation Mode, and getting back to regular meals, exercise, and sleeping habits. My Trader Joe’s haul mostly consisted of sauces, spices, and vinegars, and so yesterday I broke them out for a test run and made some delicious stir fry.

It was largely onion, since I didn’t think ahead and get other veggies, but it also included carrots, okra, and kale. My bunch of kale this week was a terrible disappointment- I decided to give the local guy a chance to ease my conscience, but it was A) bundled so the (considerable) brown leaves were concealed, and B) literally full of bugs. I had to throw a lot of it away, and I’m going bag to my $1/lbs guy next week.

I also made a big batch of hummus, but it didn’t come out very well because Magic Bullets stink. I’m going to eat it anyway, and I’m committed to making my own hummus even though I love the fun flavors they have at the farmer’s market, because it’s silly to pay $5 per tub, but while it’s economical, it’s also frustrating. I may have to just mash the chickpeas with a fork next time (like a caveman) and save myself some time and aggravation. 🙂

Depending on when Josh shows up I’m going to aim for a run today, and renew my gym membership. I can be productive. I can. Really.

 

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

