Whew!

Standard

So…I kind of stink at yoga, but boy is it a good workout! After 90 minutes of contorting I was a sweaty beast, and I felt like an overcooked noodle, but I had a lot of fun. The studio is prohibitively far away, so I won’t be able to make it a regular thing, but it felt good to stretch out.

After yoga my friend Jessica and I went to Trader Joe’s, which is a terrible place to be when you’re hungry. Everything looked amazing, and I’m honestly amazed that I made it out without buying cookie butter. I wanted it, I considered it, but I have a big jar of nutella in my pantry, and I only need one jar of sugar paste at a time. Shopping with a friend meant that I had to browse until she was ready to go, so I picked up lots of stuff and then tried to talk myself out of it before check-out. “Red pepper: $.69…well, I want to make roasted red pepper hummus, but I’m going to the farmer’s market tomorrow, and I should probably buy peppers there. No! They’ll be more expensive, and what if I’m hit by a truck tonight, and can’t go to the market! But it isn’t local! $.69!” and so on. I almost bought all kinds of random things- cookies, and weird cheeses, and a pineapple, but I think I did an ok job of showing restraint. I bought a ton of random stuff, but it’s all useful random stuff, like black beans, and rice vinegar, so it’s acceptable.

After wandering around TJ’s for almost an hour, and buying all kinds of tasty things, I came home and had bread and butter for dinner. That’s kind of sad, right? My pet-sitter can’t return Flora until Monday, so I figured I would just bake more bread and eat this loaf myself (I actually gave half to Jessica though, so I’m not just nomming all the bread), and while I did buy delightful Trader Joe’s goodies, I still don’t have a lot of food in the house, and it pretty much all requires cooking, and I was starving. Tomorrow I’ll go to the market and get more food, and then I’ll start eating like a normal person again, I swear. I’ve already started planning school lunches, and my takeout from last night inspired me- chicken and apple sushi! Mmm…doesn’t that sound good! I (briefly) worked in the Asian food dining hall in college, and got to make sushi, and I got one of those bamboo mat thing-ys at Wegman’s, and now I’m going to make all kinds of sushis (they aren’t going to look anything like authentic sushi, but that’s for the best, since I don’t especially like traditional sushi).

On a whim I decided to look at Masters stuff, and I don’t think I can apply to continue at Hopkins until I have my BSN and have passed the NCLEX, which changes things. I need to talk to my adviser, but this might be the universe telling me to take a year off and work, and finish the forensics certificate (it’s online, so I can do it anywhere), and maybe go to Marquette. I love being at Hopkins, I love it more than any other school I’ve ever attended, but I’m not sure I’m good enough to get in again, since I’m not sure how I snuck through in the first place. I have some time, and I know I’ll have people to guide me through this process, so I’m trying not to overthink.

I’m a little embarrassed, but I’ve watched the whole first season of Wilfred on Netflix in less than two days. I don’t have much else to do, but that’s still excessive, and I know it. Embarrassing admissions aside though, it’s excellent, and people should watch it. Elijah Wood is always going to be Frodo, and I no longer understand why I thought he was so dreamy (yes, his eyes are pretty, but they’re a little bulgy too), but he’s perfect for his role, and Jason Gann is hilarious. It isn’t a show I’d watch with my parents (probably. I watched Forgetting Sarah Marshall with my parents, and that has lots of naked Jason Segel, so it’s hard to say what the line is there), but it’s very funny and awesome and I wish I could watch the second season right now (it’s probably for the best that I can’t though).

5 responses »

  1. If I saw red peppers for sale for 69 cents I would buy ALL OF THEM. Here they are usually about $1.69 each, except at Aldi (Aldi = ❤ ).

    I've watched so many awkward things with Mum and Dad you'd think I'd be immune to it by now, but I'm not. This Film Is Not Yet Rated, Chasing Amy, I don't even know what all. Wilfred looks interesting though, I may give that a look.

    • I kind of regret not getting the peppers. They were like 5/$3 at the market, which is also a really good price, but they didn’t look very good, so I passed and am just going to make garlic hummus instead.

  2. (a) You got into Hopkins because you were good enough to get into Hopkins. Stop doubting that. (2) Inexpensive red peppers are always worth scoring– you can roast them and put ’em in olive oil, or freeze them, or just cook them and eat them. (iii) The black kitten was a male, so I backed off. It was a good one though.

      • Male cat, and, of course, not declawed. Then there is your mother’s resistance to a new cat. It has to get along with someone other than me, so that means either Orng or A. That wasn’t going to happen.

Leave a Reply

