Jiggity Jog

Standard

Twenty days ago I would’ve sworn that walking into my parent’s house, all full of people who love me, was the best feeling ever. It’s still a good feeling, but walking through my kitchen door into my empty apartment, knowing I have it to myself until my friend comes to visit next week felt pretty great too. I don’t know when the shift happened, but this apartment feels like home too, and even though it can get a little lonely, I’ve spent about thirty hours in the car in the past month, and I could use some alone time.

I hate unpacking, but the apartment looked so clean and nice that I jumped right in so I could preserve the tidy peacefulness for a little longer. I had all kinds of grand plans for the day since I got home so early and didn’t waste too much of the day in travel, but instead I fell asleep. We didn’t get back from driving Lillian to school until close to midnight last night, and then I woke up at 4:00 to catch my flight, so I was in serious need of a nap, and there’s something really great about getting back to your own bed. When I woke up I was starving, but when I went downstairs I was confronted by this:

It was slightly better than this picture actually- there was a lone tortilla, and so that was what I ate, with a side of pickles, but I need to grocery shop. Thursdays are a tricky return day though, because the market isn’t until Saturday, so I don’t want to get too much just yet. I’m also going on a Trader Joe’s run with a friend tomorrow, so the most logical thing is to wait and live off of peanut butter and nutella (eaten off spoons, because I’m out of tortillas).

I had a great time visiting my family, but it’s really nice to be home.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. I feel the same way. Living alone provides a lot of peace. I love going home to see family, but I’m always happy to come back to the little home I’ve created for myself.
    And nutella is more than enough to sustain you for 24 hours 😉

Leave a Reply

