The new normal

Standard

I’m going home in less than a week, and while I’m super excited to see my parents, and do fun Buffalo summer stuff, I’m not looking forward to walking into my house and not having my cat be there to greet me. I’m actually kind of worried about how sad I’ll feel being at home without her- she had such a large presence, and when I was home she usually stuck pretty close. She would beg from me at the table (or sit on the table and watch me eat if I was by myself), and sit with me while I watched movies, and sleep with me in my bed, and now I have to do those things without her, and it makes me sad. I may need to switch things around and sit and sleep and eat in different places.

On a happier, better-adjusted note, I went over to my friends Scott and Emily’s apartment yesterday, and Scott showed me how to make cucumber salad. It was a little strange at first- Emily called me in the morning and invited me over to hang out with Scott while she went out and studied, which didn’t make a ton of sense since I don’t know Scott very well, but I’m very glad I went, because it was a nice time. We made salad (it isn’t rocket science, it’s just cucumbers, vinegar, garlic, and yogurt, but it is tasty), and then Emily came home and we had soup, and watched Avatar: The Last Airbender. I had never seen it before, and they’re in the middle of the series, so it was a little confusing, but it’s very good. More than the soup and tv though, I loved spending time with such pleasant people. They’re great on their own, and I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to hang out with Scott one-on-one, but together they’re just adorable. They tell stories together, and sing in rounds, and they’re very happy and in love in a way that makes them nice to be around. It was a very laidback evening, just sitting on their couch, watching cartoons and passing around a jar of cookie butter, but it made me really happy.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

Leave a Reply

