Out last night

Standard

I actually went out last night! To a bar! With youths! It was a classmate’s birthday, and he invited me, so even though it was largely people I don’t know (he’s in 201, I’m in 101, he had a star on his belly and eats his bread butter-side down, and I don’t want any of that business) I decided to push out of my comfort zone a bit and go have a beer. It was a little anxiety-producing, and I had to take two buses, but I’m very glad I went, because now I think I have a new friend. I love other girls’ boyfriends- they make the best buddies. Growing up I always wanted brothers (and now I have one!), because guys are fun, and when you take the dating element out I get along with them really well, but when there’s any whisper of anything other than friendship I clam up and get nervous and self-conscious, so I like them to be dating other people, just to eliminate the weirdness. Lucky for me, lots of my classmates have boyfriends and husbands, so I get to chat, and joke, and play around to my heart’s content. I even played beer pong last night, for the first time in AGES, and it was actually super fun. I didn’t drink very much, since I didn’t have time to go to the gym and eat dinner, and I really wanted to get a workout in, and I know not to drink on an empty stomach, and I have to run today, and I didn’t have a clear plan on how I was getting home, so I had to keep my wits about me, and I didn’t know the people I was with very well so I didn’t want to drink too much, and I never really get drunk (lots of reasons!), but I still had a good time. Everyone else had been drinking for hours by the time I showed up, and the party didn’t really break up until around 1:00, but it was very laid-back and fun, and not immature and gross the way parties can sometimes get. It was nice to break out of the routine a bit, and stay out late with friends. I like my life, but it doesn’t hurt me to act my age sometimes, and 23-year olds go out to bars and have hijinks.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

