Gingerly

Standard

I went to the market today with the best intentions. I was going to buy kale, and $9 worth of peaches (I’ve been getting by with the $5 baskets, but they aren’t enough), and that was it. Quick in and out. It was even raining this morning, which should have helped propel me even faster, but things never work out that way. I did get kale and peaches, but I also bought insane amounts of ginger, because you can apparently buy five big ginger (roots? branches? stalks?) thingies for a song, and I want to try making my own ginger beer. It seemed like a brilliant idea at the time, but when I got home I realized that I don’t actually like ginger. However, having made my bed, I was determined to sleep in it, and so I decided to make candied ginger (though I don’t really like that either). It’s a pretty easy process: peel (did you know that if you use a spoon instead of a paring knife you waste less, and are less likely to cut off your fingers? You can use a spoon to zest citrus too! (that’s kind of a process though)), and thinly slice the ginger, put it in a pot, and cover it with water. Let it come to a boil, and then simmer it for ten minutes. Drain the water, and repeat. Add sugar (The recipes all said four cups, but I used three, and I still think that was too much. You get a lot of it back though), and 1/4 cup water to the drained ginger, and bring it to a boil, stirring frequently. When most of the syrup has been reduced, dump it onto a cooling rack, and spread the ginger out so it doesn’t all clump together. Let it cool, and then enjoy (…if you like ginger)!

I put a cookie sheet under my cooling rack to collect the excess sugar, which is interestingly ginger-flavored. I’m not sure how I’ll use it, but it should make for some interesting baked goods. I bet it would be great in banana bread.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

