What a week

Standard

I have a virus, and not the good kind, the computer kind, which is much harder to get rid of. I just spent a bunch of money on software to fix things, but so far I’m still stuck with a sickly laptop. Honestly, I just need it to hang on for the rest of my program, and then it can go gently into its sweet rest, knowing it served me well. One year, that’s all I’m asking.

This week has been quite a slog, and I’m excited for it to be over. I have one last test, and then the blessed relief of the weekend that I’m going to spend studying and writing a paper for Monday. School is crazy, and I’m worn out, but it’s a productive exhaustion, and I think most of my tests went pretty well. Now I have a couple of weeks to learn some more stuff, and then it’ll be finals, and then August break! Where is this summer going so fast?

Somehow in between homework and tests this week I found the time to bake a delicious batch of rhubarb scones- my first ever attempt at scones. I was a little unnerved by the wetness of the dough, and they may have been slightly over-floured in an attempt to compensate, but they were a hit. An important part of experimental baking is finding a willing audience, and my classmates have so far been happy to volunteer.

Last night being Wednesday, I went contra dancing. The heat has backed off a bit, so it wasn’t too sticky and gross, and I had a really great time. I’m not graceful by any means, but I think I’m improving. I want to go with more regularity, but it’s hard sometimes with school. What I really want is someone to practice with, because I dearly love waltzing, but I’m just not good at it right now, and occasional waltzing isn’t cutting it. I’ve been trying to practice on my own, but it would be much easier with a partner. My friends have decided that they’re never going to come dancing with me though, and it’s kind of a running gag at this point, so I don’t see any obvious solution.

There’s a large winged insect somewhere in my room, but I don’t know where (the downside to opening my windows for a breeze is that I don’t have screens, so things tend to fly in). It was flying around, and then settled over the window, so in an attempt to encourage it to leave I threw a sock at it, and now it’s MIA. I don’t think a sock could kill it, so it’s probably just stunned somewhere, waiting until I go to sleep to make its move. Have I mentioned how much I hate having bugs in the house? I really, really do. They can be outside, that’s their space, but this is my space, and they don’t belong here.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

