Grades

Standard

I’ve never really been a straight-A student, but now that I’m at Hopkins I’m surrounded by them. It’s a little weird actually, and I sometimes think I have the healthier attitude, since my self-esteem isn’t totally tied up in a number on a test. That said, I want to do well. I’ve never worked this hard at school, and I want my grades to reflect that effort. Earlier this semester a professor told us that people who do well on Patho and Pharm do well on the NCLEX, and so that has been my goal. I got an A on the first patho test, and for that happy, shining couple of weeks I walked around feeling like a rock star. Unfortunately, the second test didn’t go as well. It actually went kind of badly. Not end-of-the-world badly, but not great, and so I need to make a change. I need to come at it from a different angle, and start studying earlier, and smarter. There are three weeks left in the semester, and I want to make them my best, most productive, on-top-of-things weeks yet. It’s ok to stumble once in awhile, but now I’m picking myself back up and going at things 500,000,000%, and I’m by God going to get an A in patho. Most of the time B’s are ok, but I refuse to get one in this class.

My week of insanity is over (kind of. The previous paragraph would suggest some lingering madness), and I’m very ready for the weekend. I still have a lot of work to do, but there will also be fun stuff, with the farmer’s market, and random leisure-y stuff. I don’t actually have much of a plan, but it’ll be nice to step away from school for a couple of days, and regroup. Finals are coming up with alarming speed, so I need to use my time wisely, and get organized now. Working hard now will mean enjoying myself all the more when I get a break next month.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

