An inauspicious start

Standard

I briefly woke up an hour earlier than I intended to this morning, and when I drifted back off I had a dream that there was an enormous black and white rat in my parents’ house. This thing was huge, almost as big as my (admittedly small) cat, and so I knew the cats couldn’t handle it on their own, and I tried to kill it with a baseball bat. I mercifully woke up before administering the coup de grace, but it was not a pleasant thought. Once I woke up though, I realized that it was finally finally raining, providing some much needed relief from the heat, and felt better. This was not long-lived though, because on the way to the bathroom I encountered a roach- my second roach encounter in this apartment, and my first live one.

I wish I could say that I have nerves of steel when it comes to household pests, but in my heart I’m a coward when it comes to these kinds of things. We had a terrible mouse infestation when I lived in Boston last summer, and it nearly sent my into a nervous breakdown (ok, not really, but it was very disturbing, especially when I had to work the late shift by myself. The mice, on the other hand, knew no fear). Roaches are worse. Roaches turn my stomach. Everyone at school keeps talking about the nursing thing that will disgust them, vomit, or pus, or sputum, but nothing could be as awful as roaches (well…maybe maggots). As repulsed and freaked out as I was though, I knew I had to take action, and a couple of good whacks with my Principles and Applications of Nursing textbook did the job (you should see this book- you could kill me with it). It was disgusting, and not a great way to start the day, but I’m certainly awake now, and I plan on crushing my P&A test with the same prejudice that I used with my unwelcome guest.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. Lay down some spray along the baseboards everywhere, and behind appliances, under sinks, etc., or call the landlord and ask what the extermination schedule is. Roaches are harmless, but disturbing.

    • I’m hoping that since Caroline saw two roaches last month, and I found one dead one in the kitchen a few weeks ago, and killed one today, that those were the same original two, and now the problem is solved. Even if that isn’t the case, I doubt the landlord is going to have tons of sympathy over a maximum of four roaches over the course of three months.
      I wonder if it was in my room because of Flora’s food. I think I’ll get a sealed cannister for kibble, just in case.

Leave a Reply

