Too darn hot

Standard

I slept with my air conditioner going last night, but still woke up sweaty this morning, the morning sun, beating down on me like a big stupid jerk. It was only 7:00, but I decided that it was already too hot to run, and since I couldn’t get back to sleep I might as well go to the market before it became even hotter.

The theme of today’s market excursion was Things That Don’t Require Cooking. I had made a list earlier this week, but it got thrown out, and I decided to just wing it.

I made an exception for corn, since it’s so nice, but everything else can be eaten as is. The hummus is the hummus of my dreams. I’m going to have to restrain myself from eating it with a spoon, it’s so great. Fresh Squeezed Lemonade flavor. I was skeptical, but it’s brilliant. It isn’t really sweet, but the lemon flavor is very pronounced, and it’s refreshing and wonderful. The cherry tomatoes are great too, and I have high hopes for the melons and peaches.

The heat is bringing out strange cravings- I don’t usually like melon, and I’ve never been a fan of cucumbers, but I couldn’t resist them today. The thought of their cool wateriness won me over, and I was helpless in the face of 3/$1. I usually think of melon as the boring filler in fruit salads, but I last week’s cantaloupe was so refreshing and pleasant that I went to the market today intent on getting more. I’ve been enjoying watermelon slices at contra dancing, and it seemed like every family at the market was carrying one today, so I took the plunge and got one too.

Now I’m all set up with my books and a cool summer snack, though I might have to take refuge in some public air conditioned space later in the day. Do you think they’d mind if I brought my books and set up in the frozen food section at Safeway?

Lemon-y hummus on cucumber slices. 🙂

 

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

