I’ve got a feeling

Standard

I’m still homesick. It’s slightly better, since my original homesickness was prompted by a general feeling of gloom, but even now that I feel better I can’t resist thinking about moving back. I obviously can’t do anything for the next year, since I have school, but I caught myself browsing Craigslist today, just to see what rents are like, and glancing at toller breeders. To tell the truth, the dog thing is darn convincing- I can easily picture myself running my toller around Hoyt Lake, or at Chestnut Ridge.  I even have the inside scoop on vets, and which is the best puppy school (schools for humans on the other hand, aren’t great, which does give me pause about putting down roots, but that’s down the line). More than all of that though, my dog would have an extended family, which is nice. I talked to my aunt this morning, and she told me how she was a wreck when my cat was sick- everyone loves Lancaster, and I’d like my dog to be similarly adored by my family. I’d like to bring it on winter picnics (and summer picnics), and have people could come cheer at his flyball tournaments. It would be the perfect solution to my dad’s dog yearnings too, which is compelling, and means I would have a built-in pet sitter. I can’t make these decisions around a hypothetical dog (even though it keeps popping up as a consideration). I need to think about this carefully. I never wanted to be one of those people who gets sucked into the black hole that is my hometown, but it’s pulling at me.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. I often feel like that, too. It was great growing up with extended family nearby, having cousins to play with and being able to spend time with our grandparents and aunts and uncles. It makes me sad to think that if Josh and I have kids, they will probably only see their cousins once or twice a year. If it were in my power, I would be very tempted to settle in Buffalo – it’s really not a bad place to live. And I always wish for deeper roots – it’s nice being married, because at least that part of my life is stable, but I want to be part of a community in the long-term, and it will be a long time before that can happen.

Leave a Reply

