Red beans and ricely yours

Standard

My dad used to make red beans and rice almost every week. He eventually fell out of the habit, but it’s a great dish, with lots of funky, mellow flavors, and lots of heat, and because it’s cheap, filling, and relatively healthy I think it will probably be an important part of my diet. I made my first batch last night, and while I personally suspect the beans could have stood to soak a bit longer, I’m mostly pleased. It would be improved by the addition of spicy sausage, but it’s fine the way it is, and I have vats of it, so this week’s lunches are all taken care of. I’m glad I’m building up a spice cupboard- it would be very bland and sad if I just boiled up some plain beans and rice, but now I have Cajun spice, and red pepper flakes, and thyme, and Tabasco, and regular old salt and pepper, so it’s very flavorful. Tabasco is important.

We had a great lecture today in Professional Role Development, and now I want to get my Masters in Public Health, and work with migrant workers, and Amish people. I want to do home visits in creepy Winter’s Bone areas, and save African babies. I wanted to do all that stuff before, but now I want to get another degree to go with it. I don’t fully understand it, but our last semester is spent working in a hospital, in our area of interest, and you can go wherever they’ll take you, so people will go to Africa, or Haiti, or home, if they want to get the heck out of Baltimore and they want to get their foot in the door and get a real job. I’ve been thinking a lot about where I want to go, and I’ve narrowed it down to pretty much everywhere.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

