Wednesday Famine

Standard

Because I spent all of Saturday cooking I had to spend all of Sunday pegging away at my books, and that meant that I didn’t get around to cooking for the week. I suppose I could have made time, but while I heartily enjoyed my day in the kitchen I wasn’t in the mood to repeat it right away, and I figured I could make do until I had some time  later in the week, even though I know that time is harder and harder to come by as the week progresses. I’ve fallen into this before, and what inevitably happens (and happened again this week) is that I run out of food. I have lots of rice, and quinoa, and lentils, but those things need to be prepared beforehand, and so at 6:30 in the morning when I’m trying to get lunch together they’re about as useful as bags of sand. I also have lots of kale, but a girl cannot live on kale alone, and so I really do need to plan better. Sigh.

Breakfast this morning was not photogenic, but I had overnight oats in a jar (I want to dislike them but I can’t. They’re kind of gross and pasty, but they’re filling, and a nice cold breakfast for hot mornings). I don’t have any interesting things to add in (like fruit), so it was just yogurt, milk, oats, and peanut butter, which was really boring, so I mixed in the last of my citrus tequila marmalade, with interesting results. Because the theme of the day is not having any food, I also finished off the last bites of granola in the jar, and so now I’m out of jam and granola, and I really do only have kale and grains. And yogurt. I decided that while straining my yogurt makes it more delicious, it also means I have less yogurt (and more whey, which I then have to use), so I only strained half the batch to make it last longer. When you have as few food options as I do it’s surprisingly possible to eat a gallon of yogurt in two weeks (except once it’s strained it’s more like a half gallon, which is still a ton of yogurt).

It’s Dancing Night tonight, which is what’s going to sustain me during the day. This week was supposed to be relaxed, with its only-one-test-on-Monday, but there’s no rest for the weary, and I always have something due. It’s tiring, but I can’t really complain, because I honestly love my life right now. Today I’ll slave away in the patho mines, and tonight I’ll kick up my heels and try to score some free bruised produce. What’s not to like about that?

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

