Do I hear a waltz?

Standard

Dancing last night was brilliant. It was a million degrees out, I had just had a patho test AND a clinical skills sign off (I passed! Whoo!), but I was determined, so after trying on a million different outfits looking for one that would be cool enough to dance in but wouldn’t make me feel ungainly (not an easy task. I need to get back into an exercise routine), I put on my dancing shoes (aka TOMS), and headed over to the church.

I got there a little late, so I sat out the first dance, but after that I didn’t miss a single one. It was wicked hot, and everyone was sweaty, but I had an absolute ball. I love contra dancing. There were a lot more inexperienced dancers last night than the last time I went, but we all muddled through, and I think I’m starting to improve already. My partners were all very patient and encouraging, and I had a ton of fun. Not only did I do every contra dance, I actually danced both waltzes too, which were so incredibly fun. I went to ballroom dance classes when I was in middle school, but I’ve pretty much lost all of my mad dancing skills since then, so I relied heavily on my partners, but we were very twirly and fancy. It was great.

Something I missed last time by leaving early was refreshment time. About an hour and a half into the dance last night we took a break, and had watermelon, and apple slices, and pretzels, and the contra people revealed another reason I’m thrilled I discovered them- they dumpster dive at Trader Joe’s and bring all the day-old bread, and bruised apples to the dance and give them away. Granted, it sounds wicked sketch, and I steered clear of all the meat and cheese products, but I brought home a bag of slightly bruised apples and a yellow pepper, so the $6 admission goes even farther than just paying for fun times. I didn’t quite realize what was going on until most of the good stuff was already gone, but now that I know I’ll be on the lookout in the future. They had flowers too, though I didn’t take any, but it’s such a nice idea! It’s certainly very poor grad student-friendly. Truly, I have discovered a hidden gem.

There’s still a ton to do this week, but I’m feeling much better now that most of my immediate tests are out of the way. A lot of my classes weigh the first test less too, so I’ve had a chance to learn what to expect, and I can do better on the next ones without being too terribly penalized (not that I didn’t do ok, but I want to do better. I didn’t come to Hopkins just to do ok). Right now though, it’s too hot, and I’m too tired to do much more than lounge and try to catch a breeze. I need to do some reading, but I’m giving myself some decompression time first. Part of me wants to make zucchini bread tonight to give to my friends Scott and Judy who are feeding me again tomorrow night, but it’s hard to imagine turning on the oven when it’s already a million degrees in my apartment. Dinner was mercifully light on cooking, since I had pre-cooked rice that I ate cold, with wilted kale and peanut sauce (peanut butter, garlic, water, soy sauce, and red pepper flakes). Nom.

I’ll make the zucchini bread anyway, because I want to share something with them, but I might have to cut back on the baking if this heat is any indication of what this summer’s weather is going to be like.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

Leave a Reply

