Thinking

Standard

I’ve spent the better part of this weekend in my room, either studying, or pretending to study, so I’ve had a lot of opportunities to gaze at a certain picture on my wall.

It’s kind of hard to make out, but the writing at the top says “Midwife Paper Doll”, and my sister Emily made it for me for last Christmas. I really love this picture, and it does actually help me get on task, because it reminds me that the goal isn’t to get through Nursing School, it’s to become a midwife, which means grad school, which means I need to crush all of my classes in order to get into a good program. I have a long road ahead of me. That isn’t the point of this post though. What I was thinking about last night as I gazed at this little midwife, was the dog. In a prime example of attention to detail, Emily gave the paper doll midwife a toller (and gave the toller a rugby jersey!). Thinking about the drawing toller made me think about real tollers, and that led me to this video.

Tollers are noisy little guys! And jumpers! Before seeing that I had kind of assumed that if I stayed in Baltimore for my Masters I would keep my current apartment (dogs are allowed), but now I’m rethinking that plan. I told myself I could get a dog once I began working as a nurse, which might be as soon as next summer (part-time, while I’m also in school. Or I might take a year off to work and gain experience, I haven’t decided/tried applying anywhere yet. I’ve only taken one test so far, so I have some time to weigh my options still), but after thinking about it a little more, and doing a little more research, I think I’m going to have to wait to get a dog, especially if I get a toller, until I’m done with school. It’s slightly disappointing, and I have classmates who have dogs and make it work, but I think it’s the right decision.

The thing is, when I picture myself with my future toller we aren’t in Baltimore. I like Baltimore, and I’ve looked into things like dog agility training in the city, but a part of me still kind of wonders if I wasn’t meant to go to Marquette, and thinks that maybe I should apply there for my MSN. Wisconsin seems like the perfect place to raise a little red dog.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. While it is true that, in Wisconsin, there is no one to hear a little dog endlessly screaming, I would opt to stay in Baltimore. At least there are traffic sounds for diversion.

    • I do like being near Scott and Judy, and Hopkins is pretty swank (and dogs aren’t necessarily the best academic advisers, so basing educational decisions on their needs is a little unorthodox). I’ll give it more thought of course, but I’m fairly certain that a toller wouldn’t like my current apartment, at the very least. Are you sure your advice isn’t motivated by the closeness of Baltimore to Buffalo compared to Wisconsin?

      • I am shocked…SHOCKED that I…I mean you …would suggest such an idea! 🙂

Leave a Reply

