Getting Better All the Time

Standard

My test today went well. It didn’t feel great while I was taking it- I usually go through and count up the number I felt 100% on, but I was uncertain about a lot of them today, and it freaked me out so I stopped. The questions were tricky, and I actually used the full test time, which is unusual for me. The answers were posted almost immediately after the test, but I was so nervous that I almost didn’t look. I’m glad I did though, because while I didn’t do as well as I would’ve liked, I did much better than my last test. Lots of people struggled with today’s test, and there was a lot of grumbling all afternoon, but I think I’m starting to get the hang of things. I’m still not where I want to be, but I’m not afraid of washing out, or not being able to handle the work (I wasn’t seriously afraid of flunking or anything dire like that, but that first test had me a little worried). Everyone in my class is so overachieving that it’s really difficult to accept that we’re going to struggle with things, and our grades might take a hit, at least for the first semester. I was never a 4.0 student, and I’ve gotten plenty of B’s, and worse (I almost feel like I have an advantage over some of my classmates who expect themselves to be perfect. I talked to someone today who was almost in tears over her low A on the test. It was actually slightly annoying, but she’s a nice person and she was genuinely upset, so I couldn’t judge her too harshly), but these grades don’t feel like other grades, and I’ve been psyching myself out much more than usual. I’m really glad things are looking up though, and I’m hoping that since now I know what to expect I’ll do better on subsequent tests (there are certainly lots of them coming up).

Tomorrow is a clinical day, and I’m tuckered out from my test, but I’m going to try to get some serious studying in before bed. A lot of my classmates were talking about sacrificing sleep in order to cram for our tests Wednesday, but I know I’ll do better if I’m well-rested. This Nursing School stuff is exhausting enough without trying to run on fumes.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

