With a sigh and a sty

Standard

I woke up on the wrong side of the bed this morning with a big sty on my eye. My whole face felt a little swollen, so I decided that the best course of action would be to go back to sleep and see if I didn’t feel better a little later. When I woke up for the second time I still had the sty, but everything else looked relatively normal, so I decided to take what I could get and start the day. Even with the extra sleep though, I’m still feeling low-energy, and I’m trying to set achievable goals for myself that will still mean being prepared for this upcoming week. The downside of my program is that because it is so short there’s always something, so I can’t just take the day off to plank around. I’ve been in school most of my life, but I’ve never had this level of work, and it’s taking some getting used to, especially after my relatively easy gap year.

It’s hard to believe I’ve lived in Baltimore for more than a month. It feels like I’ve been here forever, but at the same time I can’t say that I’m 100% settled in yet. I have routines, and I’ve met people, and I participate in community events, but part of me is still waiting to go back to Buffalo. I have a trip planned for August, and it feels like going home, but I’m already home- I live in Baltimore. I wish I could be in Buffalo today though, it would be nice to spend Father’s Day with my family.

Leave a Reply

