Baltimore Pride

Standard

Today has been top-notch. Seriously, A+ Saturday.

Yesterday’s run got me jazzed, so I set my alarm to get up early and run again today, but when I woke up at 5:45 and assessed my tiredness: enthusiasm ratio it came down on the side of sleeping more, so that didn’t happen. Instead I woke up for real at 7:30, and did some ZWOW, which I know isn’t the same, but was good enough. After a quick shower I felt ready to take on the rest of the day, and set out for the market. It’s quite a weekend in Baltimore- it’s the bicentennial of the War of 1812, and there’s a big celebration in the harbor, with The Blue Angels, and it’s Gay Pride, but it was also apparently the Baltimore 10-Miler, because when I tried to cross 28th street I found my way blocked by several thousand runners. It was pretty impressive actually, but Baltimoreans do not know how to cope with road races, because traffic was in knots, and people were getting really angry. I waited for about twenty minutes and cheered for the runners, but as soon as a gap opened up I made a mad dash across the street, because I had stuff to do.

The market was pretty great today. It was a beautiful day, and there were children playing fiddles, and everything looked and smelled wonderful. I bought tomatoes, corn (the pound of kale for a dollar guy also sells six ears of corn for $3. He’s my new best friend), kale (of course), spinach, garlic, zucchini (I’m on a bit of a zucchini kick at the moment), and apples. I also bought a muffin, just because. They say you shouldn’t shop hungry, and while I usually don’t eat breakfast before hitting the market I went later in the day today and was starving. I asked for a blueberry one, but the woman gave me raisin, and I didn’t notice until I got home. It was still good though- raisins rock.

A muffin isn’t a very healthy breakfast, so after I finished it I also had a big plate of greens, tomatoes, and an egg.

This was actually pretty bad. I had a lot of CSA stuff leftover from last week, and I didn’t know what to do with it, or what it was, so I just tossed everything in a pan with some olive oil and hoped for the best. It’s usually a safe bet with random greens, but these were not tasty, and a lot of it was parsley, so it was bitter, and full of stems that I think should have been removed and thrown out.

After my flawed plate of greens I went upstairs and proceeded to study my little heart out until 2:00 when I went down to Pride. I had volunteered to help get signatures for Marriage Equality for Maryland, but they weren’t very well organized, and while I could find other would-be volunteers, none of us could find anyone in charge and so I gave up and just watched the parade. Pride is awesome. I found a nice shady spot, and had a great view (there were some annoying preppy twinks next to me who kept inching in front and grabbing everything that was thrown our way, but I didn’t mind too much. In all honesty, Pride is kind of more for them than it is for me). It was quite a parade. There were bands, and roller derby people, and Dykes on Bikes, and drag queens, and pit bull rescuers, and lots and lots of mardi gras beads and condoms being thrown into the crowd. It was a lovely day for a parade too, hot, but not too hot, and if I didn’t have so much work to do still it would have been the perfect day to wander around with an open container. Alas, it was not meant to be, but I still had a good time anyway. I wish the school year would hurry up and start so the Gertrude Stein Society would reactivate and I could meet the LGBTQ contingent of the medical, nursing, and school of public health.

(This isn’t a great picture, but I loved the guys in leather underpants with black wings. There were tons of them all over the place.)

While Pride was lovely, it ate up a lot of my day, and I had to turn down an invitation to join my cousin for dinner in favor of hitting the books. She lives right in D.C., so we’ll have plenty of opportunities this summer, but I hate passing on things. Instead, I came home and made a delightful dinner of veggies.

Roasted zucchini, sauteed spinach with garlic, sliced tomato, and corn on the cob. Granted, there wasn’t any protein, but it was delicious. I love corn on the cob. Sometimes I’ll just have corn for dinner, I love it that much. The spinach was actually kind of meh- I’m a kale girl, but I thought I’d mix it up a little. Zucchini is wonderful. Tomatoes, especially sprinkled with sea salt, are incredible. All around, it was a fitting dinner for a good day.

Now of course, I have more studying, but after a day like today I don’t even mind.

Leave a Reply

