Well darn

Standard

I should be out dancing the night away, but instead I’m being responsible, and staying home to study for my test tomorrow (but not entirely responsible, since I’m blogging). I had planned on doing a What I Ate Wednesday post today, but I forgot to take a picture of my dinner and things just went off the rails from there. Instead, here are some, but not all of the things I ate today.

Oatmeal with brown sugar, milk, and crunchy peanut butter, and a small dish of plain yogurt. It was kind of like having candy for breakfast, but it was super tasty, and did a good job of filling me up. Last week I brought lots of snacks to eat during the school day, but I don’t have any snack items this week- I’m all out of carrots and celery, and I don’t have any fruit, so I’ve been trying to eat filling meals so I won’t get too hungry during my longer blocks of classes. I’ve also been drinking water during class, and it works, but it’s sometimes more mentally challenging than physically, because I want to eat when I see my classmates nibbling on things.

My lunch tower. The bottom container was raw kale, then caramelized onions, leftover dal (well…I’m calling it dal), and bread. I ate about half of the onions on the bread after patho, and then heated up the dal and ate it over the kale with the rest of the onions. I’ve been eating the same meal for lunch all week, and it is actually pretty good. I’m not surprised that it’s good, but it’s earned me a couple of strange looks, so I’m just saying it for the record. The bread and onions was the best part, but I like my kale and lentils too.

I had a slice of zucchini bread as an after-school snack. I wish I could count it as a veggie snack, but I just can’t. It’s cake, and I have to accept it for what it is. Delicious, zucchini-filled cake, but cake none the less.

This is where things started to derail. I was tempted to have another heavenly sandwich for dinner tonight, but decided to mix it up and have pesto and melted cheese instead. It was actually really tasty, but then my phone rang, and I ate my salad greens with my fingers, and forgot to take a picture. This bread and pesto was consumed while the bread and pesto with cheese was in the microwave.

I made the pesto last night using CSA stuff, and it’s ok, but my mom’s pesto, the pesto I hold all other pestos up against, is much better. This batch was largely parsley, probably 2:1, parsley to basil, and I think I preferred my spinach and peas pesto. This was good with melted cheese though, and made a nice quick dinner.

Now I have to study, or I’ll feel like I stayed home for naught and be annoyed with myself. Wish me luck!

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

