Now or later

Standard

I thought of a personality quiz-type question this morning while enjoying a lovely slice of zucchini bread with butter on my walk to meet up with my carpool to the hospital- would you rather eat lots of butter, and red meat, and whatnot while you’re young, and can really enjoy it because your taste buds are all alive and working well, but knowing it might take a few years off your life, or wait until you’re old and no longer feel pressure to fit into a bathing suit that doesn’t have a skirt, but risk dying young and never getting to eat the perfect moon waffle? I remember being in middle school and right in the thick of adolescent body hatred, and pitching a day-long sulk over the fact that I was in a hurry in the morning so my dad had made my toast for me, and he had put butter and jam on it. Butter and jam? Who did he think I was, Henry VIII? My teacher noticed something was bugging me and asked what the problem was, and when I told him he told me that I was at the age when I should be having fun running up my future cholesterol, and toast is just better with butter and jam. Now I strive for a more middle-of-the-road style of eating, with lots of kale, but also bread and butter, and rare burgers, and pie, so I think in the black and white world I’ve painted I am more about enjoying foods now than waiting, or even worse, planning on never eating delicious stuff, just because some people think it’s “Bad”. I’m glad I feel that way, especially when there are sandwiches like this to be had.

Grilled cheese with 3-year aged Vermont cheddar cheese, kale, and caramelized onions, on homemade rosemary bread. Holy. Heck. I only made a half, in an attempt at moderation, and while I wish I could always be eating this sandwich, it was the right call, because it was just enough to leave me wanting more.

Eaten with a salad.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. You will not be surprised to hear that I think about this a lot. I always think about Laurie Colwin, who has so many essays to the effect of “You should only eat (toast with butter/eggs/chicken skin/whatever) about once every ten years, but it is the greatest thing in the world.” Every ten years! And she died of a heart attack in her early fifties anyway! She could have been eating toast with butter that whole time! It always makes me sad. I think that if you feel good and you can climb stairs and your stats are okay, you should be allowed to relax a bit and eat your sandwich without feeling all cut up about it.

    • One of the fun things about nursing school is that we’re always taking our own vitals, so I know that I’m in a good place as far as sandwich-eating. 🙂
      Chicken skin once every ten years is just terrible. I couldn’t even go the few years I was “vegetarian” without a piece now and then.

Leave a Reply

