Gritty

Standard

My wonderful face scrubber, knockoff clarisonic  thing finally died this week, and I’m really missing it. It was only $30 at Marshalls, which was still a great deal considering all the joy and exfoliation it brought me, but I did hope it would last a little longer (like forever). I actually had a moment of panic when I accepted that it was really most sincerely dead, and tried to think of another way I could clean my face. I honestly didn’t know what I would do, and then I remembered that, duh, they make exfoliating facial scrubs for that exact purpose. It’s crazy how fast you become accustomed to things though, I really couldn’t remember what I used to do before I got my little device thingy.

When I think about it, I’m not sure that I want to live in Baltimore forever and ever, but I do love the way it keeps stepping back from the brink of being unbearably hot and humid with a nice rainstorm. I was miserably hot and sticky last night, but this morning I woke up (at 5:00, to get to my clinical hospital by 6:45) and there was a cool, rainy breeze blowing, and it felt amazing. It’s been raining all day, and while it’s currently discouraging me from going to the drug store, I don’t really mind, because I’ll take rain over heavy humid heat any day of the week. It could do this all summer long and I wouldn’t complain.

I gave my first real bed bath today, and while it was fine, I was surprised at how uncomfortable I felt about the whole nudity thing. I’ve been to nude beaches, and I’ve changed diapers, and been in locker rooms, and I’ve even seen someone get a bed bath, but this felt different, and I was a little unnerved by it. Fortunately, we’re still working with partners, and I was lucky enough to get partnered with a former CNA (Certified Nurse Assistant), and she had given tons of bed baths, so she took the lead and helped me out, but apparently my eyes got super wide when she pulled up our patient’s gown, and I blushed the whole time. I did feel a little self-conscious about bathing a male patient, but it’s part of being a professional (if only male nurses bathed male patients things would get very backed up very quickly-out of my one hundred thirty-two classmates only eight are men), and I’m sure it will get easier with practice. It did feel great to finally put my skills to practical use though, even if I was a little embarrassed.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

