Saturday noms

Standard

I had a perfect plan for last night- ice cream and 50 Shades of Grey (I know, I know, but I don’t care. I’m in school eight hours a day, I get to read rubbish if I want to), but my dad pointed out that I can act like a 55-year old when I’m 55, so I went out for a stroll and ran into a friend of mine and her husband and hung out with them instead. It turned out to be a pleasant evening, and I didn’t have to spend any money, so you can’t beat that.

A lot of my classmates seem to be living a much more opulent lifestyle than I can afford, and I’ve been falling into the comparison trap, and thinking that their spending should have some effect on mine, but that doesn’t make any actual sense, so I need to stop. Just because some people buy lunch at the school cafe every day, or go out to bars and restaurants every week doesn’t mean I should, but it’s easy to feel a little jealous and wish that I could afford more luxuries (including ice cream and Twilight-inspired erotica). It would have been irresponsible to spend $15 on frivolities last night, especially because I had next to no food in the house, and those were dollars that were better put towards groceries.

For whatever reason I felt especially broke this week, so today’s trip to the market was less exciting than last week’s impressive haul. I averted my eyes from the beautiful cherries, and tried to content myself with the incredible smell from the strawberries, and took a chance on the $1 pound of kale (the vendor was set up across the aisle from the $6 half pound of kale people, which gave me pause, but c’mon! A pound of kale for a dollar! It’s so much kale! If it’s terrible I’ll turn it into kale chips, but I had some tonight and it seems fine), even though that vendor sold me disgusting carrots last week. I didn’t get rhubarb, or rhubarb rum jam, and I almost didn’t get hummus, but it’s an essential part of my diet, so I caved on that point, but otherwise I was very disciplined and proud of myself.

When I got home I made a bowl of oatmeal with milk and (not local, but much much much cheaper) strawberries. I don’t usually eat a lot of oatmeal, but it’s delicious, and relatively quick, so I might start featuring it more often. Today’s bowl was certainly delicious.

I also had a cup of tea, and I still felt hungry after my oatmeal, so I toasted up a flat bread and had that with my new hummus (honey sesame flavor this week. I’m experimenting with the sweeter flavors, but I’m not quite ready to take the plunge with chocolate hummus just yet).

Thus fortified, I spent the day cooking and going over last week’s patho notes. I made a giant batch of yogurt (I’ve decided to go back to gallon batches, but my goodness that is a ton of yogurt!), two loaves of zucchini bread (I froze one), and started a loaf of rosemary bread. In between cooking and studying I also cleaned the kitchen floor. One of my roommates is coming back soon, though I don’t actually know when to expect her, so I’m trying to make the apartment look as nice as possible to make a good first impression.

Lunch was a salad of CSA greens (we got a bunch of herbs in our basket this week, hence the rosemary bread), the last of my sugar snap peas from last week, and another bread with hummus (this time it was the end of the salt and vinegar flavor, which I thought was kind of meh. It wasn’t bad at all, just not as salty or vinegary as I would have liked).

I had planned on going to Barnes and Noble after lunch and reading 50 Shades there, for free, without any leaving any incriminating evidence, but apparently the Hopkins B&N is too cool for lowbrow smut, because they didn’t have it. Instead, I started reading Never Let You Go, which I’ve been meaning to get to for ages. I’m actually more interested in seeing the movie than finishing the book, but it was a nice way to pass the afternoon, and there was free air conditioning, which is important on days like today when it’s a million degrees out.

Dinner was a real treat tonight- I made zucchini fritters (they had enormous zucchinis at the market for a dollar each, so when I grated one for bread I had lots left over)! I was inspired by this recipe, but I did mine a little differently, with a chopped onion instead of scallions, and minced garlic. I hate frying things because it makes the kitchen super smokey, and I’ve been burned by hot oil too many times to count, but boy oh boy were those some tasty fritters. I had them with another salad (lettuce and kale mixed this time. A pound of kale is a lot of kale!), and some leftover quinoa.

I thought I might watch the last episode of Sherlock tonight, but I’m still not ready. Instead, I’m hanging out, and enjoying another beautiful evening in Baltimore (we have lightening bugs!).

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

