Not a tv hospital

Standard

I had my first real day of clinicals today, and I’m here to tell you, it’s not as sexy as tv would have you think. That doesn’t for a moment mean that it isn’t incredible, and cool, and interesting, but the doctors do not look like George Clooney.

I don’t really know how to do anything (I can take a decently accurate blood pressure reading, and theoretically make an occupied or unoccupied bed, and even more theoretically give a bed bath), so my activities were pretty much limited to making awkward conversation with a patient (my patient was really tired and not interested in chatting, but I think felt obligated/thought I was asking about their condition for some more official reason than my own curiosity). It’s only been a week and change though, and they’re already letting me talk to real sick people, so I can’t complain, but I’m excited to eventually learn how to help said sick people, instead of just kind of bugging them. That’ll be fun.

Clinicals ended early today because we’re all helpless and not contributing, and I caught a ride home with some girls from my group. It was still early in the afternoon, and I could have used it however I wanted, but I mostly just studied. There’s always a ton of work to do, but I need to make room for fun times as well, so next week I’m going to do something actively fun after clinicals (no passive amusement, so no watching tv, or reading blogs). I wasn’t a total homework lump though, and I made chicken salad for tonight’s dinner and tomorrow’s lunch, and baked banana bread.

(I’m making a sincere effort to use all of my celery because I hate wasting food, but it’s hard. It just doesn’t get my creative juices flowing the way other vegetable do.)

I bought a bunch of almost totally green bananas on Saturday, and four days later they were only fit for banana bread. They were out in the open, it hasn’t even been that hot, but for whatever reason, bananas ripen quickly here. I attempted to follow the Smitten Kitchen recipe, minus the nutmeg and bourbon, and I think it came out well, and the apartment certainly smells lovely.

I still have homework, but I’m going to go for a walk, just to get out of the house for a bit. It’s a beautiful summer evening, and I left my notebook in a classmate’s car, which gives me the perfect excuse to pop out and stretch my legs a bit.

ALSO, to those people who were wondering if you can make pickles by putting cucumbers in commercial pickle juice after you’ve eaten all the commercial pickles…

You totally can! They could use more time (I put them in the brine about a week ago), but they’re turning pickle-y!

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

3 responses »

    • Ok, I didn’t think about freezing it, but that takes some of the pressure off. I made celery sticks with peanut butter for a snack for school today, but while on some levels it’s great (my classes are roughly three hours long, and the boost of sugar, fat, and protein is helpful), they’re loud and messy to eat in class. I was thinking about making braised celery, but I don’t have any stock yet, and it’s sort of extravagent to buy.

Leave a Reply

