I’ve got the most scathingly brilliant idea!

Standard

There I was, sitting at the dinner table, enjoying a quiet supper of chicken and vegetables (I was planning on making a fricassee tonight, but I had/have a ton of homework, and that didn’t work out. Next time!) when I was struck with a real honey of an idea. I was just musing on how wonderful and dangerous it is that I can eat all the sugar snap peas I want now that I live by myself and buy my own peas (when I lived with my parents and sisters they expected me to share! Can you believe it?), and thinking that I would rather eat fresh peas than M&M’s, when it hit me- a joint farmer’s market/outdoor movie theater, with all fresh, local snacks! Just imagine it! You could buy a bag of shelled peas, or cherry tomatoes, or regular cherries, and maybe some vendors would get fancy and make kale chips, or sweet  potato fries, and there would be local popcorn, with local butter, and it would be so fun! It would also be a great way to get kids to eat their vegetables, and who doesn’t love an outdoor movie on a warm summer night? It’s such a good idea, that I’m giving it away. I don’t know how to make it happen, but by putting it out there I’m giving it a chance to be realized by someone else. I seriously hope something like it already exists, and is a beloved summer tradition (I’m picturing it taking place in a town like the one in Big Fish), and that I’ll get to be a part of it someday. That would just be great.

The weekend has honestly flown by, and I’m not quite ready for this week. I will be though! I’ve been cooking away, and I have a freezer full of flat breads, pancakes, and mini frittatas, and I made extra chicken, so I have dinners for the rest of the week. I still have dried apples left over from last week (did I mention those? Everyone said they were doomed to fail, and they actually turned out ok. They took ages, and I woke myself up every two hours to check on them while they cooked overnight, but they aren’t half bad. I’ll probably never make them again (seriously, I woke up every. Two. Hours. Just naturally, I didn’t set an alarm or anything, but sheesh), but they are handy for snacking), and carrots, and hummus, and celery, and peanut butter, and all the peas, and a fresh loaf of bread, so I’m good on the food-front. I have breakfast, lunch, and dinner, all squared away, and I’m here to tell you, it’s a great feeling.

(Apples! Fun Fact: I didn’t pay for any of the apples I used. The green ones were free with my CSA share (as extra, they weren’ t part of the weekly veggies, they were just trying to get rid of them at the farm), and the red one was from when they were feeding us at orientation. I thought about making apple sauce, but the dried apples seemed like a good idea for lunches. I did them with Cajun spice and brown sugar, and the result was…interesting.)

(This week’s loaf. Isn’t it beautiful? It’s a little burned on the bottom (last week’s loaf was too), but it’s otherwise just lovely. I’ll never get tired of how miraculous bread is.)

(Frittatas. I haven’t tried them yet, but they have kale, cheddar cheese, and caramelized onions, so how bad could they possibly be?)

(Tonight’s dinner. Baked chicken that I rubbed with olive oil, salt, and pepper, massaged kale, and celery and carrots that I let soften a bit in the chicken grease. There were peas too, but they’re under the kale. It was such a nice meal that I wished I had invited someone over to share it with me, but instead I ate with my Fundamentals of Nursing book.)

(Dessert. Yogurt (I need to start making full gallon batches, the halves go by too quickly), with rhubarb compote, and topped with granola. So, so good.)

For now though, homework is calling, and I must away. Goodnight!

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Success! « Turn Towards the Sun

Leave a Reply

