Leisurely

Standard

I survived my first week of Nursing School! Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to go out and celebrate, because I had to rush out the door and get to my leasing agent’s office as soon as I got out of class, and after things were straightened out there was a tornado, so I was glad to be home and safe and dry. Ok, I’m not sure it was an actual tornado, I didn’t see any mean old ladies on bicycles flying by my window, but there was a tornado warning, and a pretty epic thunder storm. There were times when the rain was so heavy I literally couldn’t see out my kitchen window, and my roommate’s room totally flooded (mine stayed nice and dry, so I guess the biggest room isn’t always the best). It was quite a storm. I hunkered down though, and made another batch of flatbreads, started another loaf of no-knead bread, and caramelized a couple of onions. (I need to expand my repertoire a bit, but I’ve been really enjoying the things I’ve been cooking and eating, so I haven’t felt pressured to try new things. Also, I can’t make new things until I use up all the old ones.)

I was honestly exhausted, and my stomach felt a little iffy (my class had to attend a lecture on ethics, and they provided cookies to placate us after keeping us late on a Friday, but the secret ingredient in the cookies was apparently poison, because lots of people complained that they felt sick afterwards), so I didn’t mind spending my Friday night at home, drinking tea and watching Dawson’s Creek in bed. It sounds really pathetic, but I was happy, and I went to bed early so I could wake up rested and ready to take on a weekend of homework, fun, and cooking (I ran out of prepared meals on Thursday, and I didn’t have much by way of groceries, so I wound up eating scrambled eggs with pesto for dinner on Thursday, and then breakfast and lunch on Friday. It wasn’t a terrible mix (I used the pesto so I could sort of claim to be eating veggies), but it was a little sad the third meal in a row).

This morning I woke up around 8:00 (oh my goodness, it felt so lovely to sleep in!) and went straight to the farmer’s market. The stormy weather was a mere memory, and it is a beautiful day in Baltimore, and I had a great time browsing around the stalls at the market. I got my check for planting flowers the other day, and because I am a bit on the grasshopper-y side of things (as opposed to a thrifty ant), I decided that it would be ok to tack a little extra onto my weekly grocery budget. I had been planning a menu for the week since Wednesday (when I realized that I hadn’t planned for a week’s worth of quick meals), so I knew what I needed to buy, and I figured that as long as I had a plan for everything nothing would go to waste.

I was a little worried after I realized that I had spent almost all my money for the week at the market, but I got a great haul. I got sweet potatoes (for sweet potato chips (you need a lot of snacks when you’re on the go from 7:30-6:00)), zucchini, celery, carrots, kale (my CSA is wonderful, but it just isn’t meeting my kale needs, which I’ll admit, are considerable), sugar snap peas, hummus (salt and vinegar flavor this week), parsley, and rhubarb. I actually accidentally bought two bunches of rhubarb instead of one, but you can never have too much rhubarb, and it freezes well.

After the market I stopped into the Pakistani grocery store and bought a little tub of ghee to make dal. I honestly love that store. It smells spicy and nice, and the prices are good, but the best part, far and away, is that the man who works there is a total sweetheart. He gave me a free samosa with my ghee, and the surest way to my heart is with food.

Back home I put away all my purchases (plus a gallon of milk and some bananas), and finally turned my attention to breakfast. While I pondered, I popped my samosa in the toaster oven to reheat, and then inhaled it, because it was so good.

Delicious. The pastry was salty, and buttery, and wonderful, and it was full of potatoes and peas.

Have I mentioned that I love the Pakistani grocery? Because I really, really do.

I mentioned before that breakfasts during the week are rushed and crazy, so I was in the mood for something a little more elaborate, and decided to make pancakes. Delicious, from-scratch pancakes. Usually I’m more of a waffle girl, but the lack of a waffle iron has converted me, and now I’m a pancake person all the way. Of course, my lifelong preference for waffles means that I’m not actually very good at making pancakes, but I didn’t let that stop me.

Ugly, but wonderful. I don’t have any maple syrup, but I didn’t mind at all, because I just went ahead and topped my pancakes with rhubarb compote. The glass of milk was lovely too. I’ve mostly just been drinking water since I’ve been living in Baltimore, so it was nice to mix it up a little, and pancakes and milk are a match made in heaven.

The recipe made way more pancakes than I wanted to eat, so I put the extras in a ziplock bag and put them in the freezer for later in the week.

They’re kind of ugly and burned-looking, but the ones I had tasted really good, and that’s what matters. I’m going to have to practice my pancake technique.

This weekend is The Charles Village (my neighborhood) Festival, so I’m going to check that out at some point today. I’m not sure what to expect, but I know there’s lots of live music, and vendors, so that sounds promising. I also have a ton of homework (review, and prep for next week), and lots of cooking to do, so I have my work cut out for me. I hope you all are having a lovely Saturday!

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Saturday noms « Turn Towards the Sun

Leave a Reply

