Hurried

Standard

With my latest class starting at 8:30, and a twenty-minute shuttle ride to school, peaceful breakfasts are becoming a thing of the past. Waking up isn’t actually that hard, especially since things are still very new and exciting, but breakfast has morphed into a hurried affair, hastily assembled, and eaten standing up (but at least I’m still using a plate- I haven’t sunk to the eating-over-the-sink depths just yet) while I make lunch. Making lunch the night before might help streamline the process, but even then I doubt I’d have time to sit at a table and peruse the newspaper, especially since my lunches have been pre-made for the most part, and I just assemble the various items in the morning. What I really want, and should get this weekend, is a reusable lunch bag. Lots of my classmates have them, and they look much cooler than the plastic grocery bags I’ve been using (and reusing, I’m not just tossing them). It seems strange that classic elementary school accessories should be the height of cool in Nursing School, but there you have it. I can’t even imagine how awesome a Lisa Frank lunchbox would be, but I’m probably going to go with something more basic (I actually have a collection of metal lunch boxes at my parents’ house, but they aren’t very functional. I used to carry a Beatles lunch box, but it got all dented).

While my breakfasts are scarfed, they haven’t been undelicious. I’m officially out of bread, flat yeast, you name it, I don’t have it, but I’ve been enjoying delicious breakfast sandwiches of melted cheddar cheese and citrus tequila marmalade. The marmalade was a bit of an impulse purchase at the farmer’s market last week (there was a cute vendor, and those are my weakness), but I’m really enjoying it. It was a bit of an acquired taste, but it goes brilliantly with the salty cheese.

(This is actually from yesterday, when I still had rhubarb compote left. It’s all gone now, and I’m waiting anxiously for the market so I can make more.)

Soon it will be the weekend, and I’ll be able to eat slow, leisurely breakfasts again, but I don’t hate my current routine, and I actually kind of like it. I’ve been waking up before my alarm, and because I refuse to turn on the air conditioning in May, and then I’ve been taking icy showers, which are a great way to perk yourself up in the morning. Things will have to change when my roommates return, but for now I have a system in place, and it’s working really well. I’m busy, and hurried, and there’s always more reading that needs to be done, but I like this life.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Leisurely « Turn Towards the Sun

Leave a Reply

