First Day

Standard

Today was my first day of Nursing School, and I was so excited that I barely slept at all last night. Granted, part of my lack of sleep had to do with the horrible smothering heat, but at least 68% was school-related excitement. Despite my hot, sweaty, uncomfortable night though, I sprang from my bed this morning, ready to greet the day. I did a super quick (like ten minute) workout, more to wake up than anything else, hopped in the shower, threw together a quick breakfast and lunch, and ran to catch the shuttle. I was so pumped to get started that I actually wore my stethoscope around my neck, but when I got to school and realized that no one else was wearing theirs I felt silly and put it away. There will be time for stethoscope-accessorizing later. They also told us that we can wear our scrubs and polo shirts every day, so I’m pretty much never putting on real clothes again. Win!

Classes were very light today- I have Clinicals on Tuesdays, but we don’t know how to do anything yet, so we just met with our instructor and had a quick tour of the hospital. I’m going to be working on a long-term care ward at a local suburban hospital, and it seems like a good place to get acclimated. I’m sure I’ll learn a lot, but most of the patients aren’t actively dying, so it won’t be as emotionally wearing as some other clinical assignments (some of my classmates are on a pediatric oncology ward right out of the gate, which I think would be very difficult).

Yesterday was a kitchen-y sort of day, and I tried to prepare things that I can eat later this week when things start to get crazy, but I’m probably going to have to do some cooking anyway. I made a couple of nice things though, like vegan pesto (also known as I-don’t-want-to-buy-Parmesan-cheese-right-now pesto).

I actually kind of made up the recipe- it’s CSA greens (tat soy and some arugula), basil, and garlic, with olive oil, and salt and pepper. I also added some sugar snap peas, and I think they gave it a little something extra. It’s very garlicky- I used most of a head, but I like it that way. Cheese would have been nice, and maybe walnuts (I’m not a big pine nuts fan), but it’s a basic, fresh-tasting pesto, and I’m pleased with my results. I’ve been eating it on bread because I don’t know what else to do with it, and it makes a nice snack. I’m almost out of veggies already since I blended them all up, but I’ll make due until Friday with what I have.

I also made kale chips, but I’m honestly not getting enough kale from my CSA, and I might need to start buying extra. I have a reputation as a kale chow hound, and a single stalk a week is not cutting it.

Lastly, I made a grapefruit yogurt pound cake. I had two grapefruits that were getting kind of old, and as luck would have it, I was invited to a Memorial Day barbeque, so the stars were in alignment for me to make this cake again. It was a little different than the last time I made it because I don’t have white sugar or vegetable oil, so I had to substitute brown sugar and olive oil, but it was a hit anyway.

The party itself was wonderful- a couple of girls from my program posted an open invitation on Facebook, and about eight people showed up for a potluck dinner. There was grilled chicken, and pasta salad, and nice local IPAs, and we had a very pleasant time of it. The hosts seem like they really love entertaining, and they might make it a monthly thing, which would be amazing.

Now it’s pouring rain, and I’m sitting on the floor next to my fire escape enjoying the cool, wet breeze. I had a nice salad for dinner, and a Heath Klondike bar for dessert (to celebrate my first day of school, and because I really wanted some ice cream), and things are good. Tomorrow promises to be a longer day, with real classes, and taking notes and everything, but I’m going to try to do a little cooking in the evening if I can. I’m almost out of my disappointing lentil mess, and I’m ready to get back on the horse, possibly with baked lentils with cheese (Lillian, your recipe would be appreciated). The heat is breaking, and I’m very glad to be where I am.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

