Aw yiss

Standard

How awesome is food? Check out some of the tasty things I’ve been eating!

This was just a plate of deliciousness. Seriously. Bread and butter pickles are the jam. I’m thinking once I finish the jar I’ll slice up some cucumbers and try to reuse the juice, but if that doesn’t work it’s good for bread-dipping.

Breakfast! Strawberries on homemade (unstrained, so slightly too liquid) yogurt, and bread and butter. Have I mentioned lately that I’m thrilled to have a working oven? Don’t get me wrong, I loved my flat breads (and I still have some in the freezer), but yeast bread is just incredible.

I didn’t get a lunch break today because I forgot a spoon and I brought more of that lentil glop, so I was starving by dinner time, and instead of eating when I got home I had to rush and shower (I have an almost super-human ability to get very very dirty. Dirtier than anyone else doing the same tasks. It’s a gift and a curse really) so I could get to mass. I actually ate a (homemade) popsicle in the shower because I was so thirsty and hot, but it did next to nothing as far as tiding me over. I was starving by the end of service, and I got kind of cranky when a seminary student got up and gave a mini-speech asking for donations. Fortunately I live across the street from my church, so I bolted out and ran right home to make dinner. While I was cooking I ate a jelly (or two…), and some grapes, but I need to buy some orange juice for a quick blood sugar boost. I was practically falling asleep in my pew I was so wiped out and hungry, and a glass of juice before church would have been life-saving.

Dinner was quick and tasty- salad, and grilled cheese with tat soy. I’ll be so sad when I run out of my Costco cheddar, it makes everything so nice.

Last, but certainly not least, the inspiration for this post title…rhubarb yogurt.

It’s every bit as good as it sounds.

I actually efficiented myself out of a job tomorrow, so I don’t have to go plant more flowers! Yay! I was assigned to an adopted plot today, and the woman who was supposed to be doing the planting had a very specific vision for how she wanted it to look (it involved measuring the distance between every flower, and after about an hour I was seriously considering murder-by-trowel), but instead of doing it herself she thought it best to have other people do it while she watched and drank wine. I can see why that would be a more pleasant alternative to manual labor, but it didn’t endear her to me at all. I could have used the money from another day, but I would have been exhausted for my first week of classes, and this way I can use tomorrow to get 100% organized and ready. I’m also proud to say that I was responsible with sunscreen, and didn’t get even a tiny bit sunburned. I’m horribly bug bitten, it looks like I have chicken pox, but I’m trying to be mind-over-matter-y and not scratch and just will them to go away. We’ll see how that works out.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

